Cream of Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This was really good. I did make some alterations. I didn't have soy sauce, so omitted that. I used my hand held mixer and pureed everything but there were still clumps so I strained it. Turned out pretty good. Oh I used evaporated skim milk in place of 1/2 and 1/2 to make it fat free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Amazing and adaptable to other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This soup is amazing! It's creamy and tasty. I used milk instead of half and half, just because that's what I had on hand. Added some garlic when sauteing in the beginning and omitted celery. That's what's up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thanksalot

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It is so salty. SO SALTY!!! If you make the recipe as is you can maybe cut it with 2 parts water and make broth of chicken/asparagus but that's about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
i did make the soup without the potato & soy sauce and flour. too many unecessary calories. i made mine with asparagus tips only , then added chic .broth a few cooked veggies corn starch, garlic pepper kosher salt.& scallions. put everything in my vita mix and then strained it. cooked it until it thickened and boy was it delicious. my favorite soup now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Amazingly wonderful recipe! I doubled it for bottling and it is simply flavorful, smooth and delicious. Definitely my favorite asparagus soup recipe to date. Next time for serving I will add whole chunks of the asparagus for a beautiful display.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Firth, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This soup had a very nice favor but much too salty. I would omit the soy sauce, and use low sodium products. I also used Soy Milk instead of half & half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I like asparagus, but I don't love it. However, this soup is excellent--so excellent that I made it twice in one week. In my opinion, the half-and-half is not needed. As others suggested, I swapped the margarine for 2 T each of olive oil and butter, added 4 cloves of garlic to the celery and onion, and I added fresh lemon juice at the end. FYI: I made my own broth using chicken, lamb and pork bones I had on hand instead of the condensed broth. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Very good. I added a diced clove of garlic per other users suggestions & I didn't use bouillon powder since I had enough chicken stock on hand. I used my immersion blender to puree the soup & it worked like a charm. Thanks for a great spring recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Very Good! I also added a diced up chicken breast that i cooked first. Great recipe for asparagus season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States