Cream of Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Never made cream of asparagus soup before. Looked up the excellent basic recipe today to cook all afternoon in my crockpot. Added garlic - because who wouldn't include garlic? Added second potato. Doubled asparagus. When I returned home this evening I could smell the wonderfulness outdoors ! Rather than make a roux to thicken, used my hand blender to thicken it with blended soup ingredients. Omitted half-and-half in recipe but stirred 1 cup sour cream into warm, blended soup before serving. It is a divine, luxurious, nourishing soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
And it freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was good. Used soymilk instead of cream and all broth, instead of the water, as I had no boullion. Worked fine this way, but didn't have the same oomph as it would have, had I used cream. Knowing this, I popped in some feta at the end. Also, added 4 or 5 garlic cloves, as it just wasnt super flavorful without it. Good recipe that can be tweaked to suit your tastes and what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe. Very simple. Simple ingredients and easy to make. Wonderful flavor that every I have served this too has loved. I give this recipe five stars because not only have I made it over and over but have received requests for the recipe or folks remark about it later on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very nice, I tried to stick to the recipe so I could really taste it the original way. However, I do think by looking at the recipe there is too much salt so I did only use 2Tbps of ckn powder and only 1/2Tbp of soy sauce and I think it was perfect. Many said they used garlic(I usually always add it) but I didn't want to take away from the wonderful asparagus taste and it didn't need the garlic at all. I also used the hand blender and it worked fine except for a few pieces of the ends of some of the asparagus, so either cut those smaller than the rest of the asparagus or use blender next time.The only reason I used 4 stars is that I believe the recipe calls for too much salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Absolutely wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
So good!! Made it two nights in a row and have the recipe memorized by heart. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
SOOO Yummy. I've made it 4 times. Sometimes more chicken broth sometimes less, a little bit of bouillon powder to a little bit of water. It's just so easy and sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Omitted the soy sauce because this was plenty salty enough. Didn't have bouillon cubes so I used a little more stock and less water than indicated along with a few sprinkles of soul seasoning. Turned out absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolarabbit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I made it and I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States