Cream of Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This is a fantastic recipe. The only reason I did not rate it 5 stars is because it needed a little tweaking. I used 2 tbsp. olive oil and 2 tbsp. butter as suggested by another reviewer. I used 2 1/2 cups of ready to use chicken broth from the box and 2 1/2 cups of water and I omitted the powder and soy sauce. The soup didn't need any salt. I added 1 garlic clove and 1 more medium-sized potato. I used very little cream but the soup doesn't need it. I may leave the cream as a garnish next time to be served at the table. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Lots of changes to this but still really good base. I don't believe in the "M" word so I used butter. There must have been an omission of the garlic so I added four cloves. I used homemade chicken stock without the bouillon cubes. We don't cook with salt and that is all they tend to add to your cooking. Added the tips after the 20 min boil along with four large chopped mushrooms. In each bowl we added another teaspoon of butter and served it with homemade marjoram bread. The perfect easy dinner. Great blend of celery, garlic, onion, and asparagus. It also helped to use organic asparagus that was the best we had ever tasted. On the table was pepper and sea salt for those that needed more of either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
Absolutely delicious! I took the advice of previous reviewers and sauted the onion and celery in butter and olive oil. Also, the measurement for the bouillon couldn't be right. That would be the equivalent of 12 cubes. (Perhaps they meant 4 tsp.) I used 2 cubes and 2 packets of low-sodium bouillon, along with a 14 oz. can of broth. Came out perfect. I didn't puree all of the soup so there would be some chunks. Will make the next time and add chicken and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I followed a lot of the suggestions of others, but with a few changes of my own. I used 3 cans of broth and 1 "can" of water w/ two bouillon for my stock. I used 3 poptatoes and added 4 small-medium carrots. When chopping the asparagas, I left the tips off to the side for later. In the stock, I boiled the potatoes, carrots, and asparagas stalks. While that was boiling I sauted the onion and celery (and the added garlic). When all of that was ready, I pulled about 2/3 of the potatoe/carrotasparagas mixture and about 2/3 of the onion/celery/garlic mixture with a slotted spoon to be pureed (along with some of the broth for a liquid). After removin everything that will be pureed, I then added the asparagas tips into the boiling stck. With the remainder of the onion/celery/garlic mix, I then added the flour, which was then added to the stock. I then added the pureed mixture back to the pot and brought the mixture back to a boil on simmer. I added 8 oz. of heavy cream, but I can see where that would be optional. When served, I topped it with shredded cheddar cheese. This was a huge hit. My husband and I were fighting over who got to take the one serving of left overs with them to work for lunch the next day. Having it partially pureed but leaving some pieces to bite into was great. I will definitely be doing this again the exact same way I did this time. Note: soy sauce was NOT used, and I think that was the right choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Mmmmm...yummy in the tummy! I used olive oil instead of the margarine, and added 4 cloves of garlic to the celery and onions. Also, I followed the advice of others and only used 2 chicken bouillion cubes. The only other substitution I made was to use about 1/3 cup of fat free half-and-half (Land O Lakes brand) instead of the 1/2 cup of the real thing...you can't tell the difference and it cuts out a lot of the fat from this recipe. This soup is really easy to make and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I've been excited to try this soup since I made my grocery list. It didn't let me down. I decreased the ckn bouillon to 4 teaspoons,I used 5 cups ckn broth instead of water and condensed ckn broth, and i saved some tips of the asparagus. This is one of my favorites. My husband has put it on his favorite list too. Thank-you william for sharing with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I took the advice of others and cut back on the butter by half and added 2 cloves of garlic to the veggies. I also used a good solid chicken base instead of the chicken bouillon powder. Added more asparagus and DIDNOT puree any of it. I had some roasted chicken from the night before and added the left-overs.If you don't have half and half on hand, don't go out and buy it, you don't need it. A wonderful soup indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
As others have stated, the original recipe was extremely salty. I eliminated the chicken broth, bumped the water to 5 cups, added 1 bouillon cube, 3 potatoes, 1 celery stalk and did NOT puree a thing. It now has a more chowder texture and is extremely popular with our family and friends. This was the first recipe that I had used off of this site. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I didn't change anything. This soup is wonderful. I will make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LetyPat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This was delicious! I inadvertently over-marinated some chicken breasts in soy sauce and lemon juice and was about to toss them out when I found this recipe (using the "ingredient search" feature on allrecipes, I might add!:) I first grilled the chicken----gotta love George Foreman!----and omitted the soy sauce that this recipe called for. Based on other reviews, as well as our preference for more texture, I didn't puree the ingredients. The soup was even better the next day! Sounds contradictory, but the asparagus and celery were soft yet at the same time had a crispness to them (chopped in bite-sized or smaller than bite-sized pieces, and used olive oil to saute. Also, didn't have any white pepper on hand, so I added a bit more black pepper and it was fine). Although this recipe doesn't call for chicken, it made for a heartier soup and saved me from a marinating disaster. Thank you William!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States