Cream of Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
We really like this soup, even my husband who isnt too crazy about asparagus! We have made it several times now. My modifications: -Melt butter along with 2 tbsp minced garlic and 2 tbsp olive oil. -Use cream of chicken soup instead of condensed broth. -Use 3 potatoes instead of 1. -Soy sauce optional. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara&Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
needed a little more umph but pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
this soup is great,and versatile,i took some leftover soup,thickend with a little added a splash of marsala wine,and it made a great pasta sauce,also browned some pork chops,drained the fat,deglazed the pan with madiera wine,added some of your soup,brot to a boil and made a killer sauce for the chops,i made another batch,and froze it in med sized containers,for a quik easy meal,its perfect,thanx for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Delicious! I added two cloves of garlic, sauteed the onion & celery with just enough grapeseed oil instead of using margarine, left out the dairy and used all black pepper since I don't have white. This was the perfect way to use up some asparagus that was looking a little too limp and dried out for anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My daughter told me this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I substituted EVOO + sunflower oil for the margarine, added 4 cloves garlic, used 2 leeks instead of onion, 2 cups home-made chicken stock + 1 cup water and 1 cup dry white wine, no flour (potato thickens it just fine), reserved the asparagus tips + added after pureeing, used a few Tbs half&half & yoghurt, then topped with creamy goat cheese & chiffonnade of fresh basil. Delicious. I'd give it five stars, but with so many substitutions, I can't say it's the same recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I've never made an Aparagus soup, so this was a first try. I like to tweek toward the healthier side; so here was my attempt: I also used the advice from others and used 2T. olive oil and 2T. butter instead of "M" to saute' the celery and onions; I used 1 box(4c.) of organic chicken broth instead of the water, bouillon powder and can of chicken broth; exchanged 1T Bragg's Liquid Aminos for the Soy(tastes the same, just better for you). I canned Asparagus last spring, so used this and added it last and late in the process. I know it would probably be very wonderful with fresh, but it's winter in WI; I will try again in spring. I loved this base recipe to tinker with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This took some doing to make the first time, but I'll definitely be doing it again so it should be faster in the future. Creamy, healthy-tasting (sort of), and so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I've been looking for a good cream of asparagus soup recipe and finally found it! The only change I made was to cut down the number of servings as I don't need to make a large amount. Wouldn't change a thing otherwise! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn McDonald Castka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Best asparagus soup I've ever tasted, period. I added garlic, cut down on the salt, used milk instead of half & half, added a potato. My revisons are here: http://allrecipes.com/customrecipe/62999138/cream-of-asparagus-soup/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matthewolucas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States