Cream of Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very easy, and feasts great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Followed Recipe, thought it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Fantastic recipe! I just used this for a dinner party I was catering and everyone begged for the recipe and leftovers to go!!! Thanks so much...I am making it again right now at home because its soooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I used 2 tbsp butter and 2 of olive oil instead of margarine, only 1/2 cup of cream and vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. It was good though. Even my picky 7-year old carnivore didn't mind eating it. I think you could leave out the cream entirely if you wanted it to be lactose free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
We really like this soup, even my husband who isnt too crazy about asparagus! We have made it several times now. My modifications: -Melt butter along with 2 tbsp minced garlic and 2 tbsp olive oil. -Use cream of chicken soup instead of condensed broth. -Use 3 potatoes instead of 1. -Soy sauce optional. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara&Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
needed a little more umph but pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
this soup is great,and versatile,i took some leftover soup,thickend with a little added a splash of marsala wine,and it made a great pasta sauce,also browned some pork chops,drained the fat,deglazed the pan with madiera wine,added some of your soup,brot to a boil and made a killer sauce for the chops,i made another batch,and froze it in med sized containers,for a quik easy meal,its perfect,thanx for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Delicious! I added two cloves of garlic, sauteed the onion & celery with just enough grapeseed oil instead of using margarine, left out the dairy and used all black pepper since I don't have white. This was the perfect way to use up some asparagus that was looking a little too limp and dried out for anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My daughter told me this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I substituted EVOO + sunflower oil for the margarine, added 4 cloves garlic, used 2 leeks instead of onion, 2 cups home-made chicken stock + 1 cup water and 1 cup dry white wine, no flour (potato thickens it just fine), reserved the asparagus tips + added after pureeing, used a few Tbs half&half & yoghurt, then topped with creamy goat cheese & chiffonnade of fresh basil. Delicious. I'd give it five stars, but with so many substitutions, I can't say it's the same recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States