Cream of Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was wonderful, although I did make some changes. For chicken broth I used 4 cups of water and 4 tsp chicken bouillon paste. I peeled and coarsely chopped the asparagus before adding it to the soup. I weighed the asparagus after it was peeled and trimmed. I pureed the soup so that it was slightly chunky instead of baby food consistency. I added 1/2 cup heavy cream instead of half and half. I think I could add less cream and less butter next time and it would still taste good. Because we are a GF household, I used 2 tbsp rice flour and 1 tbsp almond meal. I did not add pepper or soy sauce since the soup tasted great the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Fantastic soup!! I had no onions so I used a leek instead. While simmering, I found that the soup evaporated alot so I added 3 more cups of chicken broth. I had no soya sauce or white pepper so I did not put that in the soup either. I put milk instead of half-half cream. It was still really good and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was so easy to make and turned out wonderful. I just used my imersion blender right in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This was really good. I did make some alterations. I didn't have soy sauce, so omitted that. I used my hand held mixer and pureed everything but there were still clumps so I strained it. Turned out pretty good. Oh I used evaporated skim milk in place of 1/2 and 1/2 to make it fat free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Amazing and adaptable to other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This soup is amazing! It's creamy and tasty. I used milk instead of half and half, just because that's what I had on hand. Added some garlic when sauteing in the beginning and omitted celery. That's what's up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayt Krepcho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It is so salty. SO SALTY!!! If you make the recipe as is you can maybe cut it with 2 parts water and make broth of chicken/asparagus but that's about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
i did make the soup without the potato & soy sauce and flour. too many unecessary calories. i made mine with asparagus tips only , then added chic .broth a few cooked veggies corn starch, garlic pepper kosher salt.& scallions. put everything in my vita mix and then strained it. cooked it until it thickened and boy was it delicious. my favorite soup now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Amazingly wonderful recipe! I doubled it for bottling and it is simply flavorful, smooth and delicious. Definitely my favorite asparagus soup recipe to date. Next time for serving I will add whole chunks of the asparagus for a beautiful display.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Firth, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This soup had a very nice favor but much too salty. I would omit the soy sauce, and use low sodium products. I also used Soy Milk instead of half & half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States