Cream of Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was good. Used soymilk instead of cream and all broth, instead of the water, as I had no boullion. Worked fine this way, but didn't have the same oomph as it would have, had I used cream. Knowing this, I popped in some feta at the end. Also, added 4 or 5 garlic cloves, as it just wasnt super flavorful without it. Good recipe that can be tweaked to suit your tastes and what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe. Very simple. Simple ingredients and easy to make. Wonderful flavor that every I have served this too has loved. I give this recipe five stars because not only have I made it over and over but have received requests for the recipe or folks remark about it later on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very nice, I tried to stick to the recipe so I could really taste it the original way. However, I do think by looking at the recipe there is too much salt so I did only use 2Tbps of ckn powder and only 1/2Tbp of soy sauce and I think it was perfect. Many said they used garlic(I usually always add it) but I didn't want to take away from the wonderful asparagus taste and it didn't need the garlic at all. I also used the hand blender and it worked fine except for a few pieces of the ends of some of the asparagus, so either cut those smaller than the rest of the asparagus or use blender next time.The only reason I used 4 stars is that I believe the recipe calls for too much salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Absolutely wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
So good!! Made it two nights in a row and have the recipe memorized by heart. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
SOOO Yummy. I've made it 4 times. Sometimes more chicken broth sometimes less, a little bit of bouillon powder to a little bit of water. It's just so easy and sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Omitted the soy sauce because this was plenty salty enough. Didn't have bouillon cubes so I used a little more stock and less water than indicated along with a few sprinkles of soul seasoning. Turned out absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolarabbit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I made it and I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is a favorite! I use an immersion blender to 'cream' the soup just a bit (leaving pieces of potato and asparagus intact) and I use chicken broth instead of the bouillion and water. Perfect topped with homemade croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chktrk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was wonderful, although I did make some changes. For chicken broth I used 4 cups of water and 4 tsp chicken bouillon paste. I peeled and coarsely chopped the asparagus before adding it to the soup. I weighed the asparagus after it was peeled and trimmed. I pureed the soup so that it was slightly chunky instead of baby food consistency. I added 1/2 cup heavy cream instead of half and half. I think I could add less cream and less butter next time and it would still taste good. Because we are a GF household, I used 2 tbsp rice flour and 1 tbsp almond meal. I did not add pepper or soy sauce since the soup tasted great the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States