Cream of Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This soup was very easy to make, I did make some substitutions since my in-laws have health issues, also just wanted you to know my soon to be ex-husband had 2 bowls of it and he doesn't even like asparagus!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeRancher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is a very tasty soup that is not too hard to make. At least for a rookie like me, I think more time should be allotted because you have to blend the soup after boiling it. This can be a challenge with very hot soup swirling around in plastic, so it we be wise to cool it first, which adds time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Great flavor. Even the seven year old loved it. Followed the recipe to a t. I wouldn't change a thing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I've made this a couple of times but haven't had the nerve to add the soy sauce. I should try it when I'm not having company. Without something, the soup is a little bland. This time, I sprinkled Chinese Five Spice on each bowl and added a few homemade croutons. Served as the first course for Christmas dinner. All 10 bowls were practically scraped clean. (Couldn't find condensed chicken broth so I used condensed cream of chicken.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Totally awsome soup, the only thing I would do is use low sodium chicken bouillon powder, the salt was a little overwhelming if you had a meal sized bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Wow - I can't believe how good this soup is!! I made a few minor changes (following the suggestions of other reviewers); here is what I did. I used 2 1/2 cups of water and 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth (reduced sodium) along with 2 packets of powdered chicken bouillon. I also sauteed the onion and celery in about 3 Tbsp of butter and 1 Tbsp of olive oil (adding a bit of sea salt to help draw moisture out of the vegetables). I also omitted the soy sauce (because I forgot to add it). Lastly, I reduced the amount of cream to 1/2 cup (I used 10% BF cream). Once everything was cooked I used my immersion blender to puree everything; the end result was absolutely delicious...company worthy for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I followed a lot of the suggestions of others, but with a few changes of my own. I used 3 cans of broth and 1 "can" of water w/ two bouillon for my stock. I used 3 poptatoes and added 4 small-medium carrots. When chopping the asparagas, I left the tips off to the side for later. In the stock, I boiled the potatoes, carrots, and asparagas stalks. While that was boiling I sauted the onion and celery (and the added garlic). When all of that was ready, I pulled about 2/3 of the potatoe/carrotasparagas mixture and about 2/3 of the onion/celery/garlic mixture with a slotted spoon to be pureed (along with some of the broth for a liquid). After removin everything that will be pureed, I then added the asparagas tips into the boiling stck. With the remainder of the onion/celery/garlic mix, I then added the flour, which was then added to the stock. I then added the pureed mixture back to the pot and brought the mixture back to a boil on simmer. I added 8 oz. of heavy cream, but I can see where that would be optional. When served, I topped it with shredded cheddar cheese. This was a huge hit. My husband and I were fighting over who got to take the one serving of left overs with them to work for lunch the next day. Having it partially pureed but leaving some pieces to bite into was great. I will definitely be doing this again the exact same way I did this time. Note: soy sauce was NOT used, and I think that was the right choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This was excellent! Husband and I almost polished it off tonight. I made a few changes, namely omitting the canned soup and just adding more water/bullion to compensate, sauteing garlic with the onion/celery, adding a bay leaf while the soup simmered, and leaving out the soy sauce. I also used one full cup of non-dairy creamer to balance out the salty flavor from the bullion. Next time I will scale back to 4 tsp. instead of tbsp. But overall an excellent experiment in asparagus. I will definitely make again and am planning to serve to company this weekend. Also would be good as a broccoli soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This soup absolutely amazing! My family adored it - they look at how my food in a different way now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States