Cream of Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I just got done eating this yummy soup. It took me a little longer than I expected but then again I always UNDER estimate cooking times when I cook cus I love it so much. Reading the reviews I thought this was going to be way to salty so I used 4 cups of boxed low sodium chicken broth (store brand) and one cup of water, no bullion. I ended adding a little salt while I ate it. I also added 4 cloves of garlic and did not use soy sauce…sounded kind of weird to me. JMO. I also used two medium red potatoes diced. FYI: be careful when you purée the hot soup. I put too much in my blender and it popped the top off and I was covered in hot soup. OUCH! This was a very good very light dinner. I served with Italian bread with butter, dry oregano and dried basil toasted under the broiler. My hubby really liked it! I will for sure be making this again! Maybe next time for lunch instead of dinner.***I MADE THIS AGIAN BUT DOUBLED THE RECIPE. I USED 8 CUPS CHICKEN BROTH WITH NO WATER OR BOUILON.... VERY VERY GOOD!!***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I didn't have any chicken bouillon, so I used 4 cups of stock instead. It still tasted a little bland, so I added some "Fox Point Seasoning" from Penzeys Spices. Terrific soup, warm and hearty on a cold day. Would be better if the tips were reserved and added back in after pureeing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This soup is delicious. Instead of chicken boillon I used McCormick powder poultry/turkey gravy mix. It adds the same flavor to me w/out the salt flavor and adds a little thickening. I saved the tops (steamed them) and added them to the soup in the end. I would also add a less water and more cream. But, if you're watching calories, it's great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Use red wine vinegar instead of soy sauce. It gives it a better "punch". Also added a pound of chopped mushrooms and topped it with a fresh basil/red onion mixture for freshness. This would also be a great base just for a creamed mushroom soup. If you are looking to reduce calories, it tastes great even without the half & half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Terreton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Great soup! I only had a sweet potatoe so I used it instead and it was great. I also removed about a quarter of the veggies before pureeing to give some more texture. I will deffinitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSmith.MLT
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Great soup. My teen daughter keep "testing" the flavor as I was cooking and made several comments about how good it was. She has never tasted asparagus soup before, so I was a bit worried that she wouldn't care for it. I did use more potatoes than called for and left them in chunks along with some of the asparagus, as we prefer more texture in our soup. I will be making this winner again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Delicious and very easy to make. Before blending it I took out some chucks of asparagus to put back in the soup (like in the picture) and it was very good this way. I added garlic and I omitted the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I did make some changes to this recipe... I used 2 1/2 cups of sodium-free vegetable stock and 2 cups of water in place of what the recipe suggested, and I left out the celery and soy sauce. I put in maybe a half teaspoon of salt and a very liberal amount of pepper to make up for the lack of saltiness. However, the asparagus flavor definitely showed through and tastes really great combined with the starchiness of the potatoes. I over pureed mine though--next time when I make it I will leave some chunks of asparagus and potato. This is excellent with herb bread or crumbled blue corn chips. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vayerly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
So good, but I did alter a bit. Sauteed 2 sliced red potatoes for about 10 minutes with onions, carrots, celery and garlic. Then added broth & seasonings, one cup frozen chopped spinach & 2 cups frozen broccoli florets, simmered for 10 more minutes. Added one can asparagus (cut into small pieces) and the half-n-half, brought back to simmer, turned off immediately. YUM! Did not need flour, not concerned about the soup being really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Made it last night! Only change I made was to use heavy cream instead of the half-and-half. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States