Cream of Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Loved this recipe. As others suggested I used 2 TBS butter and olive oil instead of all butter. Added a 2nd potato, saved the tips and added them last. Also used all chicken broth rather than water and buillon. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eggroll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Fantastic Soup!! I made as an entry to dinner and everyone wanted to stop with the soup. I followed the recipe except I used 3 cans of chicken broth and one cup water. I also used some extra asparagus tips and tender pieces steamed for about 2 minutes and added them to the soup at the end. I topped with a tsp. of sour cream. Was delicious. Will add to my favorite recipes book and will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is excellent! I didn't make any changes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is a good jumping-off point. For our tastes I found I needed to add minced garlic and crushed red pepper to the soup. We garnished with real bacon bits and hot sauce (a fairly common occurrence around here, and not a dig at the recipe really). I upped the flour & switched the half & half out for milk. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Excellent soup! Added a diced carrot, and sauted veggies with garlic. Used all chicken broth instead of water and also added about another 2tbs of flour / 1/3 cup water to thicken it more. Didn't totally puree - I like it more chunky. Only added one boullion cube and the salt was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Outstanding!! I make a lot of soup and this one will now go into the regular line up as a favorite. I preferr real broth to powder boullion, so I used all broth. I also used 1 cup "heavy" cream instead of 3/4 C half and half. I like my soup chunky and hearty so the puree was skipped. I also used 4 med sized red skin potatoes(unpealed)and diced petite,sauted along with the clery and onion.A few sprigs of minced fresh parsley added as well. Use the best ingredients and the freshest veggies and this soup will have you craving more!! My family loved it!! Thanks William for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was heavenly!!! Instead of using any bouillon I used 5 cups of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breese, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I just got done eating this yummy soup. It took me a little longer than I expected but then again I always UNDER estimate cooking times when I cook cus I love it so much. Reading the reviews I thought this was going to be way to salty so I used 4 cups of boxed low sodium chicken broth (store brand) and one cup of water, no bullion. I ended adding a little salt while I ate it. I also added 4 cloves of garlic and did not use soy sauce…sounded kind of weird to me. JMO. I also used two medium red potatoes diced. FYI: be careful when you purée the hot soup. I put too much in my blender and it popped the top off and I was covered in hot soup. OUCH! This was a very good very light dinner. I served with Italian bread with butter, dry oregano and dried basil toasted under the broiler. My hubby really liked it! I will for sure be making this again! Maybe next time for lunch instead of dinner.***I MADE THIS AGIAN BUT DOUBLED THE RECIPE. I USED 8 CUPS CHICKEN BROTH WITH NO WATER OR BOUILON.... VERY VERY GOOD!!***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I didn't have any chicken bouillon, so I used 4 cups of stock instead. It still tasted a little bland, so I added some "Fox Point Seasoning" from Penzeys Spices. Terrific soup, warm and hearty on a cold day. Would be better if the tips were reserved and added back in after pureeing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States