Cream of Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I WOULDN'T "TWEAK" THIS RECIPE IF U PAID ME. IT'S PERFECTION! THANK YOU FOR THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE! WELL DONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Greci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
After make another recipe that used just the tips of the asparagus, I needed something to make with the remain 80% of the asparagus stalks. This recipe hit the spot! It's easy to make and the flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My husband LOVES, LOVES, LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen w

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This was really good! I added 2 cloves of garlic, used 3 smaller red potatoes, 5 c. of chicken broth and 4 tsp. of chicken bullion granules. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made as directed (decreasing the bouillon amount). Other asparagus soup recipes included lemon, so my only real change was to substitute lemon pepper for the 2 peppers. We thought it was good but not necessarily a soup I'd dream about. I think it can be better. Will probably attempt again and make modifications to increase the 'Wow' factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I really enjoyed this one...I used butter, onion, celery, 1/2 package of white mushrooms then sautéed for awhile then added the flour, cooked for awhile then added water, chicken boullion paste, a little salt, pepper,4 cloves of garlic, brought to a boil then added 1 lb asparagus. Cooked this for awhile then used an immersion blender to blend about a 1/3rd of it. Added about 3 cups of 2% milk, slowly brought back the heat and then added another lb of asparagus so it still a bit "crunchy" rather than "mushy". I did add the soy sauce which I find adds nice depth to creamed soups. Served with warm baguettes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peeper burger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Great result. Doubled entire recipe and used 4 cups of purchased chicken brothand 5 cubes of chicken bouillon and reduced the water to adjust liquid content, and, otherwise followed recipe. No additional salt needed with soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Never made cream of asparagus soup before. Looked up the excellent basic recipe today to cook all afternoon in my crockpot. Added garlic - because who wouldn't include garlic? Added second potato. Doubled asparagus. When I returned home this evening I could smell the wonderfulness outdoors ! Rather than make a roux to thicken, used my hand blender to thicken it with blended soup ingredients. Omitted half-and-half in recipe but stirred 1 cup sour cream into warm, blended soup before serving. It is a divine, luxurious, nourishing soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
And it freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was good. Used soymilk instead of cream and all broth, instead of the water, as I had no boullion. Worked fine this way, but didn't have the same oomph as it would have, had I used cream. Knowing this, I popped in some feta at the end. Also, added 4 or 5 garlic cloves, as it just wasnt super flavorful without it. Good recipe that can be tweaked to suit your tastes and what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States