Cream Wafers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Do not put an egg yolk into the cream filling! Otherwise it is the same as the Betty Crocker cream wafer recipe. I have used the Betty Crocker cookbook version for YEARS! This is my daughter's,my daughter's friend's, and my favorite cookie. I am sending them to her in Hawaii for her birthday. and to California to her long time friend. I CANNOT agree with Jimmeh 's review from Dec. 11, 2010. She gave one star! The wafer part of the cookie is not bland. It is not at all sweet and that is the way it is supposed to be, and is very buttery, flaky and melts in your mouth. The cream filling inside makes this cookie DIVINE! I have made them in valentine shapes with pink filling and sprinkled with pink sugar and they are just too cute! To me, anyone who gives a negative review of this cookie is just out of their mind! Please, try these cookies and experience a little taste of heaven. But remember: DON'T ADD THE EGG YOLK! It is not needed. Tip: After chilling the dough, just use 1/3 of the dough at a time when rolling it out and keep the rest in the fridge until ready to roll out. Also, the wafers are very fragile, so be careful when icing them with the cream filling. Place the bottoms of the baked cookie together when filling. Don't make them too thick, or they don't taste as good. (Too much wafer) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made these for the first time. I have had them a WHILE BACK for Christmas @ my friend's house. She made them. Finally I decided to give them a try. I read all the reviews & I am glad I did. A lot of the advice came in handy. Such as keeping the dough cold! Work in batches. Use wax paper. Double the filling recipe. Etc...This is harder than I thought! & I bake quite often some hard time consuming desserts. So when you decide to make this recipe make sure you have ample time. I followed the recipe above (except I doubled the filling). But when I make them next time I will make them a bit thicker. The recipe says roll out the dough to 1/8 inch thick. They will come out thinner than the ones in the picture displayed by farm life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is my families favorite christmas cookie!! My Grandma has been making them for years in green and red always at Christmas. She always called them Parfish Wafers, cause that was the name they had in a magazine when ever she found the recipe, but we could never find anything else by that name. I leave out the egg yolk these days, and add a little splash of water to the filling to help it spread better (which will break less cookies!) My mother claims they take to much time, but I like to bake and think they are actually easier than cut out Christmas cookies with frosting. And they freeze really well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a family favorite. I also entered them in a contest, and while I did not win, several people told me it was their favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Wow! These are AMAZING! For once in my life I followed the directions exactly except I used maple instead of vanilla for the frosting. Letting them go the 10 minutes is perfect and cutting them off a "log" of dough made this recipe too easy... Thank you! I will make these for the rest of my life! **edit** After making these a bunch of different ways I like to add some almond extract in the frosting and use eggnog instead of cream in the cookies. SO amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Hi, I have been making these for over 35 years. I have a real help suggestion when rolling out the dough. When using parchment or wax paper to roll them place a piece of the thin foam kitchen shelf liner under the parchment and shazam! The paper stays in place! These also hand wash well after. I have always used the powdered sugar, real butter, cream, little natural clear vanilla and butter flavoring. I make these all the time for weddings and showers and make frosting in matching colors. I also have a little heart cut out about 1 1/2" and these are always a hit for those special occasions. There are many 'little cutters' now that are perfect for these lovely cookies for all occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
How do you roll out this dough? Mine is either too hard or to gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My mother got this recipe out of a sack of flour when I was a child. I am 60 years old. She would make them every Christmas,(and only Christmas). My siblings and I didn't know what the name of them were, so we called them "Favorite Kind of Cookies". We still do. I always said when I was old enough to cook, I would make them anytime I wanted. After realizing how labor intensive they were, I cut back to only at Christmas! I am the designated "Favorite kind of Cookies" maker now and I have to make them every Christmas for my family and my husband's family! They are the best cookies in the world, and still our "Favorite Kind of Cookies!" It's just not Christmas until they are on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Time consuming, but yummy little dainty treats. This is 'tea party' food at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I have a love/hate relationship with these cookies. Once you make them, you're hooked for life! Everyone will want you to make them for the next event! I don't use the egg yolk & increase the amount of filling. Have also used almond extract in place of vanilla. Don't make them on a humid day. I use a children's Tupperware cookie cutter (very small) & also had a friend put four forks together (with proper spacing to fit on the cookie) so I only have to prick once - a REAL timesaver (told you I make them a lot!!) Always the most popular cookie on a mixed tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oakdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States