Cream Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Tasty little sweet cookie/cake thing. Needed more flour.. will try again with other puddings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
The first time I made these I experience the same as others: dough too delicate and frustrating to make. The second time, I cut the flour back to 1 cup and added 1/2 cup baking mix (bisquik or other). The entire dough was mixed using an electric mixer. Made a HUGE difference (though for the last 1/2 cup I had to use a dough hook so it wasn't as messy. Add plenty of flour to the board before you roll it (though I found a flexible plastic cutting board works better for this). It kneads just fine from t here. Rolled it, cut it, baked it. Turned out so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These cookies are very gooey, very subtle. I used butterscotch pudding instead of vanilla for excitement, and came out amazing. The cookies needed more time though, felt like 22 min rather than 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This was and is a wonderful recipe, I did try to roll out but found out that the dough is fragile, so for the sake of time I just spread them out on a cookie sheet and made bar cookies and it was big hit. I have had several request to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I last reviewed this recipe in 2003 under JEBV. This is still by far the most popular treat with tea. I've since tried using coconut pudding and rum extract for a tropical flavor that is out of this world! This is a great recipe still. If anyone has trouble making these just try a little patience and tweek the recipe to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I agree with everyone that additional flour needs to be added. (1/4 c) I added mine while kneading. They remind me of a sugar cookie,but not as sweet. I really like them and served them at an afternoon tea with clotted cream. Eveyone loved them. Definitely not a tradtional cream tea cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Not what I expected. Very soft, added much more flour to be able to cut out,very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Okay - but not very authentic. I live in Yorkshire, England and we don't use instant vanilla pudding mix in any of our cakes. The traditional cream tea consists of a cup of English breakfast tea with a scone split sideways across the middle with each half topped with strawberry jam (jelly) and then with either whipped heavy cream or Cornish clotted cream. The recipe which nearest matches the best scones is J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorne, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Perhaps I should wait until tomorrow's wedding shower to rate these, however, it's been a long night! Keep this in mind, I am a novice. I have been trying recipes on this site for quite some time now but this is my first dessert of sorts. The instructions make this recipe sound so easy and none of the reviews made it seem difficult but I think I've bitten off more than I can chew with this recipe! It was so sticky and soft!!! I couldn't roll it out without adding a lot, I mean a lot of flour. So when I baked them, because I had so much flour on the biscuits, they tasted on dry flour...I spread butter on them while they were still hot and now they seem fne. I've finished the batch, my husband liked them but for the effort, I don't think it was worth 5 stars. I'll try this recipe again if it goes over well at the wedding shower I'm hosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I just made these and they are sooo yummy! One suggestion I would make is adding more flour (about 1/4 cup more) as the dough was too soft and sticky. Also, I would reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup next time as the cakes are a bit too sweet for me. But otherwise they are scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States