Cream Sauce With Herbs and No Dairy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I followed the suggestions of another reviewer and added a few teaspoons of sugar. It really does make it taste more like a cream sauce because dairy is slightly sweet. I also added 4-5 large marinated mushrooms because they were in my fridge....and ooooo, SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
We plated this up for our 13 yr. old son and his friend without telling them what it was. They were both REALLY into it. I got compliments. That's right, from teenage boys. It was great. I changed a few little things: I used 1/2 cup tofutti sour cream and 1 cup soy milk (bc I had some s.c. to use up). I also nixed the dill and added fresh basi, salt, & pepper... Holy delicious, Batman! A very versatile recipe-- I'm thinking of adapting it for vegan fondue, nacho cheese sauce, mac n' cheese... yum. I would've taken a picture, but it was gone before I could get to the camera :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I can't believe how goooood this is! I really outdid the spices (because a few other reviewers said it was bland). Make sure you use SPIKE brand for the seasoning. I served it over zucchini pasta - this made it low-carb, low-fat, xtra healthy. YUM! Oh, at the suggestion of another reviewer, I added tomatoes, mushrooms, canned but drained artichoke, and some fresh spinach. I just dumped these veggies into the pot when the sauce was heating. Yummy! I'm so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOE123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
great, except that the uncooked garlic was much too prominent. sautee the garlic first, then add to the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I used only 16 oz tofu pureed with garlic, basil, oregano, rosemary, parsley, salt, pepper, paprika, and sundried tomatoes. No soy milk or any other ingrediants. warmed it in a pan and tossed it on tortillini with chopped fresh spinach and sauted zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Really good recipe! I left out the dill but add carrot, peas and corn that had been sauteed in vegan butter and garlic. I added the veggies in right before the corn starch so they had a few minutes in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Excellent low fat alternative to cream sauce! I will be making this from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I LOVE CREAM SAUCE! i've been experimenting with how to do a vegan cream sauce for a few weeks, and this recipe is it! the tofu is a wonderful base! It can easily be spiced so follow any non-vegan recipe. You've just made my life better! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
YUM! i didn't have any tofu on hand, so i left it out and instead added extra nutritional yeast for creaminess (used half a cup as suggested by other reviewers.) I made way too much pasta and halfway through cooking i decided to cook up a second half batch, which was just enough for a whole box of pasta. I used whole wheat pasta which normally is a little dry and this sauce was really creamy and worked great with it. Because i left out the tofu we browned a pouch of boca crumbles for protein. i also used some left over veggies that i had; a mix of corn, peas, green beans and carrots. My boyfriend loved it, and so did i. with the boca crumbles it almost had a beef stroganoff flavour, something i haven't eaten in YEARS. Cannot wait to try it with mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Never use thyme in it. Gross. But other than that flavour it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States