Cream Sauce With Herbs and No Dairy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Followed the original (before edited) recipe and it came out wonderful! All three of my kids enjoyed it. Doctored it up with all of the spices (except dill) and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
followed additional instructions, and this came out wonderfully. not exactly like traditional, straight-up cream sauce, but like "a creamy" sauce. i used vanilla soy milk - oops. still came out great; also used spike, which is a great seasoning, but left out the dill (personal perference). i know that i will continue to tweak this a bit, and use it again and again. thanks, from vegans and lactose intolerant sauce lovers everywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Sadly, this did not work in our household. I am lactose intolerant and deprived of all foods rich and creamy, so I had hoped this would work out. I even used real butter and doctored it up. I did eat my dinner, but I didn't eat any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I made this to go with the sweet potato gnocchi and it was great. However, I used vanilla soy milk instead of plain to get the sweetness needed to match the pasta. Also, I added 3-4 packets of turbinado, a little oregano, and garlic salt to add to the flavor. It turned out amazing. My husband, who is not a vegetarian, had no idea that it was not a completely fattening and unhealthy cream sauce. It was wonderful with the pasta. I even surprised myself with how good it came out (I was a little concerned after looking at it in the blender!) -- who knew you could make an amazing cream sauce with tofu and soy milk!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kasson, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This is my first time rating a recipe,but I felt compelled...This sauce is fabulous.Especially considering it's vegan fare.I salted it a bit and had it over steamed broccoli.I intend to try it over just about anything sauceworthy.Excellent.Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
This sauce may not be very flavorful, but when you add salt and pepper on you plate, it really pops. I used nutmeg as my non-salt spice, although I think the cream sauce needs salt, because it does lack flavor. I used more than what the recipe called for, for dill, because I like the flavor of dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
Great texture and very easy, but lacks the spices to make it really good. Maybe garlic and cayenne pepper?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
I submitted this recipe with Spike brand seasoning mix as one of the ingredients, but Allrecipes changed it to "salt free seasoning". I highly suggest using Spike, which is not salt free, instead. I usually put in basil, oregano, salt, pepper, and thyme as well. Also, the cornstarch need not be mixed with 1/4 cup of water -- a tablespoon or two, mixed together with a fork or whisk, is plently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
This sauce is a good base, but I agree as it is written it is pretty bland. I added extra spices and some cheese and it really perked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
Excellant substitute for alfredo sauce. I would add more parmeasan cheese though. It tastes a little dull without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States