Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by w
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was a very good, easy recipe - my only gripe (therefore 4 stars) is that I had to read all the reviews to get it right b/c the instructions were somewhat lacking. I added about 2 tsp of vanilla and 1 tblsp of sugar to the puff batter, and reduced the eggs to 3 b/c of reviewer's comments about the puff pastry being too eggy. I think 4 eggs would've been fine, too - I don't mind them being eggy or a bit on the light side flavor-wise since the custard is so sweet. But it's ESSENTIAL to poke a hole the last couple of mins of baking the puffs so they don't collapse. It's also ESSENTIAL to let the dough cool before adding eggs, otherwise the eggs will start "cooking" in the dough & not mix in. Also ESSENTIAL to beat in as much air as possible when mixing the eggs until the dough is a sticky, elasticky, "chewy" consistency. Maybe Shellie could add these important instructions into the recipe? While experienced bakers may know this as "common knowledge," a lot of new bakers may not. I made big ones and bite sized ones - even the big ones cooked through in about 25-28 mins. Just gotta poke that hole. To cut back on calories in the filling, I just made the pudding recipe as is, with fat-free milk. Was still delicious. I plan on making it with heavy cream for guests later this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2583 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Awesome recipe and so easy with such elegant results. I've made this recipe more times than I can count, and haven't changed a thing, except making the prep easier. No need to cool the water/butter mixture. Put the hot liquid into your mixer bowl and dump all 4 eggs in at once and mix IMMEDIATELY on med. speed. Mix until the dough is tacky and starts sticking to the side of the bowl and you're done - about 2-3 min. (Mixing in one egg at a time makes no difference in dough texture and only allows more time for your eggs to curdle in the hot liquid.) I use a heaping tablespoon of dough for each, bake exactly 20 min and then poke a small hole with a toothpick in the side of each puff. No need to let it sit in the oven (or it will dry out)or leaving the oven door ajar while cooling. Just let the steam escape with a toothpick and cool. Forget all the complicated posts on how to prevent deflation. I make this professionally for a bakery and my easy tips have never failed - try it.***Update- PLEASE use parchment paper to bake or it will stick. Don't grease your cookie sheet, or the bottoms will burn or get too brown. Also, add one teaspoon vanilla extract. This will help diminish with the 'eggy' taste. Good luck, and keep trying if you fail the first time. This should be a no-fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1698 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Wonderful recipe! Very light and delicious. A tip, though, for this and all cream puff recipes: After baking is finished, turn off the oven, crack the door open with a towel or potholder, and let stand in the oven for about an hour. This prevents them from sagging!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1034 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sparta, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
Simply delicious. Very easy to prepare. To cut down on clean up and to make filling the cream puffs a snap, put the pudding mix, milk and cream in a zip top bag. Shake and massage the mixture until uniform, then place in the refrigerator to set (this takes about 15 minutes or so). Once set, cut about 1/8 of an inch off the tip of the bag. This way, instead of trying to spoon the mixture into the cream puffs by hand, or transfering the mixture to a pastery bag, you can directly pipe the mixture into the puff. Be sure to cut only an 1/8 of an inch or so off the bag to ensure maximum control of the amount of filling you're putting into the puffs. Fill the mixture from the bottom of the puff by making a tiny incision (I used the tip of a steak knife), that way the puff will remain whole and look more appetizing when served (as opposed to slicing it in half and filling it like a sandwich).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
480 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
The ingredients for the recipe were acceptable, it was the directions that lacked proper instructions. Cream puffs need to be thoroughly dried out or they will fall and be soggy. After making one batch of soggy puffs I did a little research in order to have success the second time around. When finished baking, poke a small hole in the side of the puff to let steam escape. Return to the oven for 10-15 minutes with the door open to continue drying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Well.. all the reviews say its amazing! I'm a good cook but I have no idea what happened. Very disappointed. The puffs turned into mush, they never did puff or dry, instead they fried in the oven. WHAT WENT WRONG?!?! HELP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I have a comment and a question. The cream is awesome to say the least, however please tell me where I went wrong. My shells did not rise much at all so I could not fill them. I had to use one for the bottom and one for the top. Also, I baked them on a nonstick cookie sheet and the bottoms stuck to the sheet. Where did I go wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was so simple I have to say! And the cream filling is to die for, I added a little almond extract to mine. I brought this to work, and boy do they just think I'm the next best thing! If you've never made these before, a trick I used was to pipe the dough with a star tip into mini muffin tin. It helped control size and made it so easy to remove them. Plus the star tip gave them a pretty look! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Simple and spectacular! I've made this recipe more than a half-dozen times so far, and it never fails to garner raves. A few notes from my kitchen: Letting the pastries cool slowly in the oven after baking -- I turn the oven off and prop the door ajar by a couple of inches -- keeps them from collapsing before I have a chance to fill them. A half-teaspoon of vanilla, almond, or orange extract added to the filling erases any processed taste that might linger from the pudding mix. Also, a drizzle of melted dark chocolate on top adds a scrumptious accent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
These were HEAVENLY! Keep the puffs small or they will not cook all the way through or be soft in the middle. I used a small melon ball scooper and it worked great with the sticky dough. My drops were the size of gumballs, or as big around as a quarter. If you are going to fill the puff using a pastry bag I suggest taking the tip before you put it in the pastry bag and go to each puff and make a hole in the bottom. Make the holes after the puffs cool, but the bottoms can be crisp and hard to get a pretty little circle with if you have filling all over your tip. So make servings small and put your holes in the puffs before you go to fill them. I also used white chocolate pudding instead of vanilla like others suggested and it was to die for! I will defiantly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 989) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States