Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I haven't made cream puffs in years. Used to make them all the time when I was a kid. I would usually make my own custard, but decided to try this filling as I was making assorted desserts and wanted to save some time. The custard filling was very good. I may add a little more milk, was slightly stiffer than I would have liked. I topped with some ganache. Everyone loved them! Thanks for the short cut filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Easy to make but definitely appreciated the extra tips provided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
OMG I just made this wonderful recipe today! They are simple but elegant. The vanilla cream was absolutely wonderful. I will be using this recipe to show off!! The cream puff was perfect. The best part was that I had friends asking for seconds! My friends are gourmet cooks! I was so proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I give it 4 out of 5 stars because the puffs were amazingly easy, but the recipe instructions were not very instructive. The filling instructions were very easy to follow, and I followed them exactly. After that, I changed it up a little. I Set the water and butter over medium/high heat and let it boil for 1-2 minutes before removing it from the heat and stirring in the flour and salt until it didn't stick to the pan. I then put it in a medium sized bowl and added the eggs one at a time, mixing thoroughly afterwards. After spraying the cookie sheets with cooking spray, I took a measuring tablespoon and a small cereal spoon and put tabelspoons of batter onto the cookie sheet about an inch apart, 12 to a tray. I put them in the oven for 20 minutes and removed them from the oven after. I let them sit for 5 minutes before poking a finger in them and filling them with a piping bag full of the cream. I found that I had to make a couple more puff batter batches before I used up all of the filling. They were very delicious and I didn't find them getting soggy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
i've made these many times, and always with success (and accolades from my friends/family). they have no idea how easy these are to make! the only thing i do different is drop these on my baking sheet (parchment lined) with a TSP instead of TBSP to make smaller puffs. then i sprinkle with powdered sugar. they disappear so quickly! they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csoozgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Joseph Chavez Jr
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This recipe was so simple and came out absolutely perfect! I used a ready made cream cheese pie filling for my filling, and dusted the top with powdered sugar. I measured them out onto the pan a little bit larger, but there were no complaints! I wonder if I could freeze them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Chavez Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Turned out great did it with vanilla pouding and for a change with chocolat pouding very good a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I tried this recipe twice. The flavor is outstanding, but my puffs fell both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronni Rundblad Zito

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The recipe is good, but one very important direction is missing. I have been making these pastry puffs for 30 years. Your eggs should be room temperature, and when you add the eggs one at a time, make sure you beat each egg in really, really good, until there is no slime, or until the batter is not shiny anymore. If you do these steps, your puffs will turn out everytime. I have tried the other way, and it results in flat puffs. I never added salt either, and still don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
A couple of things that may help with baking. Ovens are all different. Baking times of recipes are estimates, not exact times. Bake till done, it takes experience and patience to learn. Eggs come in different sizes. Large eggs are about 2 ounces per egg. If you use a different size egg you need to adjust for that. If you can invest in a scale, weighing ingredients is much more accurate. Baking is a science, the recipes are formulas. It is sometimes frustrating for those that love to cook, adding, tasting and creating as they go. Once baked, there's not much to change, but maybe cover it with chocolate:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,004) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States