Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
WOW!!! What a recipe. I made this and substituted the vanilla pudding mix for pistachio pudding mix and it was phenomenal. It will definitely be in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was a very simple and very easy recipe! One thing I did differently however was changing the amount of eggs to 3 instead of the 4 eggs. It's still perfectly good! You don't necessarily have to mix all the eggs one by one, since it's the same, but it'll be easier to mix everything. Then when you're done baking it, poke holes into the side, but I didn't find that necessary since mine were firm and weren't going to sag, but maybe because I poked holes into it. But yes, poke holes into just to make sure. This was a great recipe and I will be coming back here more often to make some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
These are very easy and good. I didnt use the cream, just the puff and used another cream on this site called "pastry cream". The puffs, however, are delicious! i added a tbsp of sugar to them, replaced butter with oil(i was out of butter), and poked a few small holes around the 18 min mark. Sadly, i overbaked them and they burned slightly on the bottom. Next time, ill reduce the temp to 400 degrees. Overall though, these are delicious and definitely a keeper. Thanks Shellie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
After making this recipe 2 times and it was a flop, tasted good but the shells were terribly floppy, I found out that you have to keep the water, butter, flour mixture over the heat til it forms a nice dough ball. if you don't it will turn into a liquidity mixture, I recommend watching the video to see what the consistency should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I usually read reviews before i make a recipe on here, but this time I just followed the recipe exactly, and they came out PERFECT! I baked mine for about 22 minutes on the top rack and they were perfect. No soggy shells here. I put the filling in a ziplock bag and snipped a corner off, then delicately cut the tops off my shells, the insides are soft enough to just squeeze the filling right in, replace the tops and I drizzle some melted cocolate on top. As far as adding the eggs, i took the batter from the pot to a separate bowl like it said, I used a wooden spoon like it suggested, and I added one egg at a time. At 1st it makes the batter act strange and separate, but keep mixing, it gets a little drier and elastic like. I did not wait for anything to cool before adding my eggs, and they did not cook like some said happened to them. My family loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe twice, good and all, but someone help! They come out fine, I poke a hole, but they always go flat! what am I doing wrong? And I bake them for 25 min, and they still aren't done. They look great in the oven, and right when I pull them out, but then they go flat, and they are gooey inside. What am I doing wrong? Can anybody help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I made this and my husband said they were the best cream puffs he's ever had. I was surprised how easy they were to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe thank-you. However you did forget to mention the oven temperature,so had to look it up...nevermind though because the cream puffs where super! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Very easy did not change a thing in this recipe other then food coloring! I add diffrent color cream for diffrent holidays. My husbad can not stop eating them. I have to be on guard with a wooden spoon. :) Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I like this recipe very much, have tried it many times. It's fairly easy to follow, and does not require much brain work. It turned out great every time I tried it. For those who have a problem with the puffs "rising", I once made a mistake and used oil on baking sheets. The puffs ended up frying to the paper, very soggy and didn't bake through. Also the key to getting them right is not to open the oven until they are ready. The air tends to escape and they fall. Otherwise I cannot imagine any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States