Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ym1022
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
After putting the dough onto the baking pans,brush egg whites on the surface. you will have shiny store bought like puffs :) My suggestion is that after putting flour in a pan,mix it till you start seeing a thin layer of film like coating side of the pan even the dough shapes a ball. Mine used to not puff it up enough when I didn't mix enough in this process. ( I made a swan with whip cream & butterscotch pudding)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ym1022

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Overall this was so bad. The cream was amazing but the puffs did not puff. They were burn't on the bottom but raw in the middle. I followed the whole recipe exactly and do not know what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
These where great, very easy, and the kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I haven't made cream puffs in years. Used to make them all the time when I was a kid. I would usually make my own custard, but decided to try this filling as I was making assorted desserts and wanted to save some time. The custard filling was very good. I may add a little more milk, was slightly stiffer than I would have liked. I topped with some ganache. Everyone loved them! Thanks for the short cut filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Easy to make but definitely appreciated the extra tips provided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
OMG I just made this wonderful recipe today! They are simple but elegant. The vanilla cream was absolutely wonderful. I will be using this recipe to show off!! The cream puff was perfect. The best part was that I had friends asking for seconds! My friends are gourmet cooks! I was so proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I give it 4 out of 5 stars because the puffs were amazingly easy, but the recipe instructions were not very instructive. The filling instructions were very easy to follow, and I followed them exactly. After that, I changed it up a little. I Set the water and butter over medium/high heat and let it boil for 1-2 minutes before removing it from the heat and stirring in the flour and salt until it didn't stick to the pan. I then put it in a medium sized bowl and added the eggs one at a time, mixing thoroughly afterwards. After spraying the cookie sheets with cooking spray, I took a measuring tablespoon and a small cereal spoon and put tabelspoons of batter onto the cookie sheet about an inch apart, 12 to a tray. I put them in the oven for 20 minutes and removed them from the oven after. I let them sit for 5 minutes before poking a finger in them and filling them with a piping bag full of the cream. I found that I had to make a couple more puff batter batches before I used up all of the filling. They were very delicious and I didn't find them getting soggy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
i've made these many times, and always with success (and accolades from my friends/family). they have no idea how easy these are to make! the only thing i do different is drop these on my baking sheet (parchment lined) with a TSP instead of TBSP to make smaller puffs. then i sprinkle with powdered sugar. they disappear so quickly! they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csoozgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Joseph Chavez Jr
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This recipe was so simple and came out absolutely perfect! I used a ready made cream cheese pie filling for my filling, and dusted the top with powdered sugar. I measured them out onto the pan a little bit larger, but there were no complaints! I wonder if I could freeze them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Chavez Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Turned out great did it with vanilla pouding and for a change with chocolat pouding very good a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 997) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States