Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Casey
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Simple and delicious! My family and friends didn't even get enough of it ! Making 5 batches more ! Yummmmmm Thx for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I have made these many, many times and forgot to review them. I follow Mommy From Seattle's hints and it couldn't be easier. If they are the only dessert being served, I make them larger. If they are for a party or a holiday where there are several desserts, I make them smaller. No matter what size, everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Made them twice now, and both times they turned out great. I baked for 15 min at 400, then turned it down to 350 for another 15 min to let them dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Excellent and super easy! I added 2 tsp. of vanilla and 1 tbl. of sugar to the dough before adding the eggs. Let the dough cool before you add the eggs! I read the reviews and poked a hole in the puffs 1 min before they were done but my beautiful puffs collapsed! Don't poke a hole in them! My second batch were nice and puffy. The filling is wonderful! They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Great recipe every time I make it I get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Love this recipe! It's the only recipe I make that is always requested for gatherings, and even more so since I discovered I could substitute the milk in the filling with Kahlua!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dpflo
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I used light cool whip with chopped up strawberries for the fillong instead and they turned out great and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Mine turned out pretty good on my first attempt! I did have the same issue as others where they are slightly eggy. Next time I will let the dough cool a bit before adding egg (I don't own a stand mixer). I didn't have a problem with them sticking at all - if you do, then your pan must no longer be non-stick. Mine came out with a flattened bottom, which was perfect because I was able to saw it off neatly with a serrated knife, fill, and reattach the bottom. I'll be making these again and filling with whipped cream for a "true" cream puff, though the vanilla pudding with a dash of vanilla extract was nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe is amazing! However, If you do not do it right, you will waste a lot of time and money, so follow these instructions EXACTLY: 1)Make sure measurements are EXACT. Too much or little of one ingredient will make the cream puffs too doughy or runny, and the cream puffs will not puff! 2)You MUST bring the water and butter mixture to a boil. Otherwise, the starch in the flour will not swell. You will end up with hard, flat bread. 3)Mix the flour in IMMEDIATELY after the water and butter boil, on the stovetop over low heat. This is important for reason in 2). 4)Let the dough cool until it is warm. If it is too hot, the eggs will cook. When it is warm, and the eggs in one a time, and stir. 5)You MUST stir the dough thoroughly (5 minutes). I used a whisk to beat the dough mixture. The dough needs to become have air dissolved in it, so mix it throughly to incorporate as much air as possible. The dough should be elasticy. 6)Put the cream puffs on the bottom of the rack! The heat from the bottom of the oven will cause the cream puffs to rise. The temperature of the oven MUST be a hot 425 so that the cream puffs rise quickly!! 7)NEVER open the oven to check on the status of the cream puffs. This will lower the oven temperature, and the creams puffs WILL NOT puff up. 8)AFTER the cream puffs have puffed up, slit a hole in them with a sharp knife or toothpick, so it can dry out. Cook until inside is dry. 9)Add 2 tsp vanilla and 1 TBSP sugar to cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
So very good! Made the recipe 3 times in a week and it came out amazing every time. The only thing I might recommend changing is: dropping a heaping teaspoon of the dough instead of a tablespoon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,001) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States