Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
this recipe was AMAZING!! I loved the cream puffs and couldnt have asked for more. I ate my cream puff with a small drizzle of chocolate, powdered sugar, and a raspberry on top. I also had one with chocolate drizzle, only it was frozen!! Delicious either way. Also, i think banana cream or custard makes a better, thicker, middle. If you stick with vanilla pudding, add an additional 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract and a pinch of cinnamon for a better/stronger flavor. Anyways...great recipe!! It was very easy and I strongly recommend it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Willie
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is close to an old family recipe that we have been making for years. To make the cream puffs the same size, I used a pipe bag for the dough and used a 24 mini-muffin tray. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ym1022
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
After putting the dough onto the baking pans,brush egg whites on the surface. you will have shiny store bought like puffs :) My suggestion is that after putting flour in a pan,mix it till you start seeing a thin layer of film like coating side of the pan even the dough shapes a ball. Mine used to not puff it up enough when I didn't mix enough in this process. ( I made a swan with whip cream & butterscotch pudding)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ym1022

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Overall this was so bad. The cream was amazing but the puffs did not puff. They were burn't on the bottom but raw in the middle. I followed the whole recipe exactly and do not know what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
this is a really easy recipe for a beginner! just make sure to let the puff pastry cool down and keep the custard in the refrigerator until you fill the puff pastry in! best of luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
These where great, very easy, and the kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I haven't made cream puffs in years. Used to make them all the time when I was a kid. I would usually make my own custard, but decided to try this filling as I was making assorted desserts and wanted to save some time. The custard filling was very good. I may add a little more milk, was slightly stiffer than I would have liked. I topped with some ganache. Everyone loved them! Thanks for the short cut filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Easy to make but definitely appreciated the extra tips provided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
OMG I just made this wonderful recipe today! They are simple but elegant. The vanilla cream was absolutely wonderful. I will be using this recipe to show off!! The cream puff was perfect. The best part was that I had friends asking for seconds! My friends are gourmet cooks! I was so proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I give it 4 out of 5 stars because the puffs were amazingly easy, but the recipe instructions were not very instructive. The filling instructions were very easy to follow, and I followed them exactly. After that, I changed it up a little. I Set the water and butter over medium/high heat and let it boil for 1-2 minutes before removing it from the heat and stirring in the flour and salt until it didn't stick to the pan. I then put it in a medium sized bowl and added the eggs one at a time, mixing thoroughly afterwards. After spraying the cookie sheets with cooking spray, I took a measuring tablespoon and a small cereal spoon and put tabelspoons of batter onto the cookie sheet about an inch apart, 12 to a tray. I put them in the oven for 20 minutes and removed them from the oven after. I let them sit for 5 minutes before poking a finger in them and filling them with a piping bag full of the cream. I found that I had to make a couple more puff batter batches before I used up all of the filling. They were very delicious and I didn't find them getting soggy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 991) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States