Cream Puffs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is actually a fairly standard Choux pastry recipe and actually models the recipe for Profiteroles if we eliminate the Vanilla. I use Choux pastry and add Parmigiano-Reggiana, freshly grated, and place a big bowl hot and fresh on the dinner table with a home-mad Minestrne soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Once again, I missed reading the reviews first...but they did come out. I just understand now that the cool down period was more important that I probably gave thought to when I was making them...which was my first time. Very tasty though! I did some soft dough (not bad) to remove. Excellent though. I did use my homemade chocolate syrup over it though rather than the melted chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Definitely didn't need to empty these out. They were pretty hollow. We used a different filling, the French vanilla cream from this site. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forestville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Very good recipe. I followed it exactly, except I didn't need to scoop anything out because it was totally hollow when it finished baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forestville, California, USA
Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
These were very good! I follwed the recipe exactly, but allowed the dough to cool int he fridge before I added the eggs. These were even better after refrigerating over night! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Made these for a family dinner and they turned out great. Filled mine with chocolate mousse and whipped cream then drizzled with chocolate syrup.......delicious! I shipped the "drying" in the oven though, found it unneccesary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
good but better with pastry cream instead of heavy one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
the first 2 times i used this recipe it turned out extremely good. But the next 2 times i made the puffs didnt rise up much.. was wondering why and after i read the reviews, I think that i didn't let the dough to cool for 10 mins before I added the eggs. Will try it next time again. This is a good recipe anyways..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I also only made the pastry but since that is the main point of this recipe, that is what I will comment on. As someone previously mentioned, some of the directions are needelessly complicated or leave out important steps. First, this is the classic cream puff dough recipe with 1C water, 1 stick butter, 1C flour and 1C eggs (far easier to measure since each egg is slightly different). Mix the butter and water together and heat to a boil (no need to heat separately and if you boil too long some of the water will boil off changing the ration of liquid to dry ingredientes with is very important in this type of recipe). Remove from heat, dump in the flour/salt and stir until dough forms. Let COOL for 10+ minutes. Place dough in stand mixer with paddle attachment and add eggs one at a time until a smooth dough forms. Use 2 soup spoons to place dough (will be very sticky) on parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake at first at 400 for about 10 minutes (causes dough to puff up) then reduce heat to 350 and bake ~25 minutes. Remove from oven, let cool. If you bake them correctly then won't flop and there won't be a need to remove any raw dough from the center. Most recipes show 2 different temps for baking, one to puff and the other to finish baking the dough. Fill with your desired filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Spray the cookie sheet. I loved these. I think the filling would be fine, but I wanted something more (and my husband doesn't like whipped cream) so I made the Pastry Cream recipe I found on Allrecipes. It seemed too heavy (and not enough) so I made a happy medium by combining it with about 2c of whipping cream (about 4 when whipped). I didn't add the spray until I'd dropped the first one on the sheet, and it stuck. I did get it off, but the others came off much, much easier. I think 3 of them fell on me, but I don't have the most reliable oven. I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States