Cream Puffs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is a really good recipe. The only change I had to make to my second batch of the puffs was to put the 450 to 425 (for 15 min) then I had to make the time change on the other turn, instead of 25 minutes on 325 just 20 minutes. When I did this It made the puffs come out still white and puffy, not brown but they had a tinge of gold on brown on them. When I did what the recipe said they turned out over cooked and brown, and a little over burnt. This is a great recipe and I will be making this soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is actually a fairly standard Choux pastry recipe and actually models the recipe for Profiteroles if we eliminate the Vanilla. I use Choux pastry and add Parmigiano-Reggiana, freshly grated, and place a big bowl hot and fresh on the dinner table with a home-mad Minestrne soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Once again, I missed reading the reviews first...but they did come out. I just understand now that the cool down period was more important that I probably gave thought to when I was making them...which was my first time. Very tasty though! I did some soft dough (not bad) to remove. Excellent though. I did use my homemade chocolate syrup over it though rather than the melted chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Definitely didn't need to empty these out. They were pretty hollow. We used a different filling, the French vanilla cream from this site. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forestville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Very good recipe. I followed it exactly, except I didn't need to scoop anything out because it was totally hollow when it finished baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forestville, California, USA
Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
These were very good! I follwed the recipe exactly, but allowed the dough to cool int he fridge before I added the eggs. These were even better after refrigerating over night! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Made these for a family dinner and they turned out great. Filled mine with chocolate mousse and whipped cream then drizzled with chocolate syrup.......delicious! I shipped the "drying" in the oven though, found it unneccesary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
good but better with pastry cream instead of heavy one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
the first 2 times i used this recipe it turned out extremely good. But the next 2 times i made the puffs didnt rise up much.. was wondering why and after i read the reviews, I think that i didn't let the dough to cool for 10 mins before I added the eggs. Will try it next time again. This is a good recipe anyways..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I also only made the pastry but since that is the main point of this recipe, that is what I will comment on. As someone previously mentioned, some of the directions are needelessly complicated or leave out important steps. First, this is the classic cream puff dough recipe with 1C water, 1 stick butter, 1C flour and 1C eggs (far easier to measure since each egg is slightly different). Mix the butter and water together and heat to a boil (no need to heat separately and if you boil too long some of the water will boil off changing the ration of liquid to dry ingredientes with is very important in this type of recipe). Remove from heat, dump in the flour/salt and stir until dough forms. Let COOL for 10+ minutes. Place dough in stand mixer with paddle attachment and add eggs one at a time until a smooth dough forms. Use 2 soup spoons to place dough (will be very sticky) on parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake at first at 400 for about 10 minutes (causes dough to puff up) then reduce heat to 350 and bake ~25 minutes. Remove from oven, let cool. If you bake them correctly then won't flop and there won't be a need to remove any raw dough from the center. Most recipes show 2 different temps for baking, one to puff and the other to finish baking the dough. Fill with your desired filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States