Cream Puffs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
This is a really great recipe. This was my first time making cream puffs, and let me tell you! They turned out wonderful: light, fluffy, and very good. I didn't make the cream (I used cool-whip instead), but the outside part came out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I love this cream puffs. I added 1 1/2 tsp. sugar into the pastry mixture and 3 eggs instead of 4. If after adding 3 large eggs, the dough is thick and fall steadily from the beaters when you lift them out of the bowl, you don't have to add the 4th egg. Add the 4th egg only if the dough still clinging to the beaters. I stored it in the freezer and the filling tasted like ice-cream. Yummylicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I loved the lightness of the whipped cream, but didn't care for the melted chocolate chips, instead i just made a simple mixture of cocoa, sugar, butter, and milk, and drizzled that on top. These were great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
This was really delicious. Light, fluffy, and just...5 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
I really liked the way the dough turned out. Nice and crisp. However, I thought that the filling needed something else. It didn't have much taste and it was too liquidy. Pudding might be a better alternative. I had to put them in the freezer just to be able to eat them so that the filling wouldn't leak out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
haven't tried the recipe yet but from all the other reviews i have read about this particular recipe, it sounds like the filling isn't too appetizing. May i suggest trying the French Cream Filling which can be found in allrecipes if you type it in the search box. this filling was DEELISH!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REDPONYGIRL
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
I found this recipe helpful, but didn't see the need to scoop out the soft dough. Once baked and cooled, I didn't have a lot of soft dough inside of these. I love sweetened whipped cream and found it to my liking when I made these. I just made certain that the heavy cream was whipped to form stiff peaks and filled the cream puffs rather full, serving them immediately is the trick! If you cannot serve them right away, I suggest freezing them. Take them out of the freezer about an hour before you do serve them. I used chocolate syrup instead of the melted chocolate chips. Any flavored syrup, like strawberry, would also be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDPONYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
i love this recipe it is soooo good. i filled it with whipped cream and it is sooo delicious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSE90

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This recipe was fantastic. I prepared them for my husband to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
These were a good cream puff but I wasn't quite sure if it was necessary to remove the softer insides. I replaced the filling with a mixture of vanilla pudding and cool whip-it was great! Definetly make sure to cook long enought to make them nice and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyKay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States