Cream Puffs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Although I got excellent results with the basics of this recipe, I decreased the rating due to the unnecessary complexity of the directions. I am only rating the pastry part of the recipe because I didn't make the whipped cream filling. I prefer a bakery cream type filling. Some people had problems with their puffs falling flat, or being filled with bits of uncooked dough. This is directly related to the amount of liquid used, and the cooking method. Most recipes are written for large sized eggs. If using extra-large eggs, you must decrease the eggs to 3, as I did. Also, you must remove the pastry mixture from the heat and allow to cool for 10 minutes before beating in the eggs, one at a time. The puffs should be cooked at 400 degrees for anywhere between 25-35 minutes. Watch them closely (without opening the door) and remove them when they are golden and dry. There is no need to change temperatures or take them out of the oven and place them back again. Cool them on a wire rack. I did not cut the tops off. I simply poked a straw through to make small holes. I then filled with cream using a pastry bag with a tip smaller than the hole I created. I filled them with the Pastry Cream recipe from this site. (I separated the filling into two bowls, and added about 1/2 jar of Nutella to one of the bowls.) The ending was quite nice. I made a huge baking sheet full of pastries. They were devoured in about 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Wow! Exactly what I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.Cumminger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! So easy, but they look so complex. I used the handle of a wooden spoon to poke a hole in each puff (though some had naturally occuring holes already), then I used a cookie press that came with a pastry tip attachment to fill the little puffs. So much easier than a pastry bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I made these for a dinner party, and they were a huge hit. I just added a bit of powdered sugar on the top of the chocolate syrup for an extra touch. Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This was great! We added a little vanilla to the dough. We also mixed the cream with strawberry yogurt for a rich strawberry filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Pretty good recipe...the puffs puffed up nice and big, but I'm sorry to say they just didn't seem to have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arielle
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
These were great! I never how easy it was to make cream puffs. I topped my cream puffs with strawberries instead of chocolate because I didn't have any around. I'm going to try chocolate and other toppings for this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flushing, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I had no problems with this; seemed simple enough if you are going to spend the time pretty much just baking! I made them a day or two in advanced and kept the refrigerated and still not a big problem! I let the puffs cool down a little before poking them with the back of a wooden spoon. (Thanks to the review of another user! AND I also took her advice upon using powdered sugar and adding vanilla pudding mix)They were easy to make and definitely look wonder :) Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Law

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Lots of steps! Found that it was very difficult to scoop out insides while still warm without them crumbling! Will try to find a much easier recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
to ernesta - even though one of the most helpful recipes states you do not have to let the hot mixture set for 10 minutes - the could be your problem. putting the eggs into the hot dough starts to cook them and therefore your dough isn't rising. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States