Cream Puffs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I was making cream puffs when I realized I was out of pudding mix. So I went out searching for an easy filling. I absolutely loved this cream filling. I will never go with boxed again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The recipe is a little eggy, I found I could use just 3 large eggs and have it work just fine. Only half of my first batch rose, specifically the half in the rear. To others like me with a window on the oven, push this tray far to the back, otherwise the first row will not get hot enough, at least on mine. Also, while mine puff, there is still a little too much meat to these puffs, I find it better to slice them open and scoop out some of the excess rather than just fill them as is. Overall, this recipe was very clear to me. Follow the instructions and you'll have a workable (albeit eggy) puff that's perfect for a variety of fillings. I have yet to try the custard filling listed here, but I felt adding more egginess would be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
The cream puffs were excellent, and I was amazed at how easy they were to make. I didn't like the filling. Not that it wasn't good, it just wasn't the type of filling I like on cream puffs. It was more like what you would find in a long john or bismark. It tasted good, though, and if you like that kind of filling, you will love this. I will keep trying to find a filling I like, to go with these excellent cream puffs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGONFLYLADY13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Sedgwick, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was the best recipe EVER! The custard alone is like HEAVEN, and with the puffs, like heaven times 5! Six stars! (even though it's not an option.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
everything went well. the taste is why it gets 4 instead of 5 stars. the pastry itself wasn't all that good..it was plain. with the filling it tasted better. the filling wasn't "to die for" either. i think i'd rather put vanilla pudding or something..something from those jello cups. i had to add extra sugar in it. it still didn't turn out that good. the texture of everything was great! overall it's pretty good. i'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was the easiest recipe I have tried in along time. These were delicioso!!! Could not stop eating them. The cream is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
it was awesome.here in turkey we also make the same recipe but we top with chocolate souce.yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This recipe took me back to my childhood and my Aunt Donna. Everytime I went to visit her in Michigan she made these for me. I love to cook, but my wife does most of the baking. These were easy and they turned out perfect! I added a bit more vanila and put whipped cream on top of the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
These cream puffs are good and easy to make but the cream could be better. It's a fairly standard custard but I find that you can taste the flour and it a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannie O.
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I ran thru all the cream puff recipes here and found that they are all the same. What makes or breaks the puff pastry is the way you make them. I use a turbo roaster for baking and I find that the puffs would stay in shape better if I bake them at 450F for the first 20 mins, then 350 for the next 5 mins, then 250 for the last 5 mins. This way the puffs are cooked inside (it taste less eggy, if the insides aren't cooked they look and taste like scrambled eggs). As for those who said that their pastry didn't puff, i think you better check the temp, lower temp won't help the pastry puff, it also causes you're dough to be soaked in butter (deep fried dough as my brother called it)as i've experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States