Cream Puffs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Just finished baking these. The custard was pretty good, though a little bland in my taste. I think I expected something more vanilla flavored or sweet. The pastry was a bit tasteless and bready. Also, I think something went wrong because they came out without any bottoms. Over all not that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These were absolutely delicious! Make them - they are impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
My cream puffs turned out nothing like the ones in the pictures.. They turned out very eggy, and not at all like what I thought they would be. The custard was great, but the puffs didn't turn out well at all...Won't use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
the cream filling was good but my "Cream puffs" didn't puff at all.they were hard and cookie like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Easy to make and very tasty. I used them for finger sandwitches. Not all of mine puffed not sure what I did wrong. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
The pastry. I always use butter, not shortening. (thats why I gave it 4 stars) The custard is great, basic, old fashioned filling for the puffs, like people used to make that way years ago. When the custard is ready I add 1/2 cup of cooked sweetened condensed milk (boil a can for 2 hrs) and 1/2 cup of lemon pie filling. You may add other flavors or creams. For example, add coffee instead of lemon cream. Play with it and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Puff pastry was surprisingly easy and same out great, But the custard was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GHOST_BJR
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Made this recipe at my job at the University of st.thomas. I quadrupled the recipe, and thoughout the week the residents personally came over and asked if they could see that this recipe is baked more often! I also baked this for my co-workers at a perkins and they were gone just like that! A FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHOST_BJR

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunshinEquine
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This recipe gets ten stars!!!! I have made this recipe several times and each time they come out better. Although I am surprised by some of the reviews about the puffs. Mine always rise and they arent fully hollow in the middle but I think that makes them even better. I use whole wheat pastry flour for both the custard and the puffs maybe that has something to do with it. If you dont like the grainy-ness of the whole wheat pastry flour give it a sift and you lose some of that texture!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshinEquine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was my first time, and they came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States