Cream Puffs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I guess I had high expectations for this recipe. Right after they came out of the oven, with the custard inside, they tasted totally disappointing - but after a few hours in the fridge they were very tasty. I'll probably try this again but I'll put less sugar in the custard, or I'll simply replace the custard with something different - whipped cream perhaps. Now THAT would be yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
These were really EASY to make and tasted amazing! I let the dough bake at 450 for longer than 25 minutes then lowered the heat to 400 for 10 minutes, then 350 for 5 minutes and then 250 for 5 minutes. They turned out great and was a huge success with my roommates :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
my cream puffs turned out great, much better than i expected. this recipe was really easy. the only thing i didnt like was the custard, so im gonna go look for another cream recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
My pastry didnt puff at all it went flat and i followed the direction perfectly. next time i will lower the temperature. As for the custard, it was sweetened to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
These were easy to make and pretty tasty. The only thing that I didn't like was the filling. Next time I think I will try a cream filling instead of the custard. They were still very good and my family enjoyed them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunmore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iverylamemeh
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This recipe turns out perfect.. Its easy to make plus you don't need an electric mixer!! The custard is fragrant! So feel free to add more vanilla for the extra feel of vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iverylamemeh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sembawang, North Region, Singapore
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I made my puffs about the size of the store-bought frozen ones and I got 24 plus I threw out a bit of dough. the pastries turn "golden" WAY before they are ready to take out of the oven. dont get freaked out and take them out too early! 25-30 minutes is necessary to cook the insides. the custard is lovely, but about twice as much as I could possibly use even with filling them as full as I could. that's ok, it was good to eat alone! I topped with melted chocolate and then refrigerated for a couple of hours. refrigeration is necessary to really make these perfect. good recipe. time consuming, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I was making cream puffs when I realized I was out of pudding mix. So I went out searching for an easy filling. I absolutely loved this cream filling. I will never go with boxed again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The recipe is a little eggy, I found I could use just 3 large eggs and have it work just fine. Only half of my first batch rose, specifically the half in the rear. To others like me with a window on the oven, push this tray far to the back, otherwise the first row will not get hot enough, at least on mine. Also, while mine puff, there is still a little too much meat to these puffs, I find it better to slice them open and scoop out some of the excess rather than just fill them as is. Overall, this recipe was very clear to me. Follow the instructions and you'll have a workable (albeit eggy) puff that's perfect for a variety of fillings. I have yet to try the custard filling listed here, but I felt adding more egginess would be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
The cream puffs were excellent, and I was amazed at how easy they were to make. I didn't like the filling. Not that it wasn't good, it just wasn't the type of filling I like on cream puffs. It was more like what you would find in a long john or bismark. It tasted good, though, and if you like that kind of filling, you will love this. I will keep trying to find a filling I like, to go with these excellent cream puffs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGONFLYLADY13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Sedgwick, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States