Cream Puffs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I tried this recipe--and the puffs turned out great---instead of beating by hand I used the electric mixer--I also added dill to flour mixture--going to use crabmeat salad for the filling. I baked them for 20 minutes at 450 then 400 for 10 minutes, 5 minutes at 350 and last 10 minutes at 250--they were so light I could not believe it--I was always scared the puffs would fall(my first ones years ago did and tasted !!!) but this time they were perfect--I will certainly do this again--a regular soup spoon makes them too big (for what I needed) but a heaping teaspoon was just the right size. I used spoons that are for the table not measuring spoons--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Didn't like it. It's a custard fill not a cream fill, so it needs to be called a custard puff instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni Pratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I followed some of the suggestions left by others for baking: I baked the pastry for 10 minutes at 450 degrees, then 10 minutes at 350 degrees and the last 10 minutes at 250. They turned out perfectly-nice and fluffy and hollow on the inside. The custard, on the otherhand was not good. It had the right consistency, but the flavor was bland and unappetizing. Next time I'll probably just used a boxed pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These turned out ok. The filling tasted great. They hollowed out in the middle and rose really well. I'm not sure if I did something wrong, but they had a really strong egg flavor. Maby next time I will try using just two eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Can anyone tell me how long it takes to get the flour and salt to cook to a smooth ball? Mine never did and when I put it in the mixing bowl to cool. It had oil seeping from it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I guess I had high expectations for this recipe. Right after they came out of the oven, with the custard inside, they tasted totally disappointing - but after a few hours in the fridge they were very tasty. I'll probably try this again but I'll put less sugar in the custard, or I'll simply replace the custard with something different - whipped cream perhaps. Now THAT would be yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
These were really EASY to make and tasted amazing! I let the dough bake at 450 for longer than 25 minutes then lowered the heat to 400 for 10 minutes, then 350 for 5 minutes and then 250 for 5 minutes. They turned out great and was a huge success with my roommates :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
my cream puffs turned out great, much better than i expected. this recipe was really easy. the only thing i didnt like was the custard, so im gonna go look for another cream recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
My pastry didnt puff at all it went flat and i followed the direction perfectly. next time i will lower the temperature. As for the custard, it was sweetened to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
These were easy to make and pretty tasty. The only thing that I didn't like was the filling. Next time I think I will try a cream filling instead of the custard. They were still very good and my family enjoyed them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunmore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States