Cream Puffs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Only used this recipe for the custard, which came out amazing! This is not my favorite cream puff pastry recipe. But if you're looking for a recipe for a plain vanilla custard, this is the recipe to use. Perfect texture and flavor. And my other baking friends LOVED the custard, says it's one of the best they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Tried another filling recipe from a cookbook I had on hand and it flopped. Went to Allrecipes for help and found this recipe. This filling came out perfectly and saved the day! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
The custard was really good. My puffs did not come out right at all. The burned... Maybe it was my fault...I greased my pans. After 10 minutes of baking at 450, they were burned. I found out from another review on a different recipe that you should poke them with a toothpick after about 20 minutes of baking. Just finished baking my last batch and followed all suggestions, they came out better, but still stuck to the pan. When I take them off the pan with my spatula, they tear off the bottoms. Therefore, I have holes in the bottoms. I will be trying the recipe again, maybe. But first, I will read more reviews on different recipes. 5 stars on the custard :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
These turned out great. First time making cream puffs and world-traveling, tough critic dad gave it "restaurant quality." Definitely a keeper! I made a chocolate ganache to drizzle on top, and I also took half the pastry filling and mixed it with some ganache to make chocolate ones. Super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
YUM! Not as sweet as I expected them to be, but they were stiil amazing! perfect! I'll definitely be making more of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Romphf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I followed this recipe by the letter (except I poured chocolate sauce over them at the end) and they hollowed out beautifully and tasted delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Wow. Just wow. I used butter instead of shortening and 3 eggs instead of 4. These were absolutely amazing. The custard was thick, creamy, and delicious. The pastry was extremely easy to make and came out perfect. I filled a plastic bag with the custard and piped it into the pastries. I didn't have to cut them or anything. I just opened up a little crack on the tops of them and squeezed the custard in. I put a chocolate glaze on half of them. Next time I make them (there will DEFINITELY be a next time) I will frost all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The custard was a little bland. The cook time for the puffs was WAY overestimated. They were burnt at 25 minutes and I really wish I'd taken them out much earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
the custard was chunky and didn't taste that good. the dough was better, but I found it difficult to open the dough and put the custard inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Very disappointed! I have made cream puffs before, but lost my recips, so I figured I woul dtry this one. I just made the custard and the puffs... the puffs came out more like fried pastry, and were not to my liking. I did make the custard, but its still chilling so I haven't tried it yet. I am hoping it is ok, but I'll be trying another recipe now for my puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakn4thekids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States