Cream Puff Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
made these for a church potluck, they were pretty easy to make, but I felt that the temp of 450 was a bit much as my puffs started burning, maybe just my oven? Well anyways I had to play around with the temp and arranged my baking rack to the middle and just ended baking at 350 on the middle rack for 20 min, and then moving the cookie sheet to the top rack for the last 20 min still at 350, the puffs didnt burn on the bottom that time, and came out nice and golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosamond, California, USA
Living In: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I made these for a Super Bowl party and they were gone before the game started. I filled them with French Vinalla pudding adding some almond extract for flavor. Made a chocolate sause, and drizzled on top. I put the dough in my electric mixer and added the eggs one at a time and beat them well after each addition. The dough was very shiney and they puffed up really nice. I baked them on parchment paper and did not prick them, and they came out wonderful. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I use butter and once the mixture has boiled, transfer it over to an electric mixer to beat in eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I make cream puffs a few times a year and this is a really good recipe. Make sure you cook the flour till it pulls away from the sides of the pan and looks kinda dry and don't forget 1 egg at a time. Don't cut out steps. You can fill these with anything. I make custard or a nepoleon cream. You can also fill with fresh fruit like berries maserated in sugar with a spoon of whipped cream. I usually drizzle with chocolate or a hard caramel. If you like them sweet use about 2T. sugar in the water, flour, butter mixture. If you want to make these savory omit sugar, up the salt a little and you can even add pepper to them to make them tastier. Fill with salmon mousse or a savory cheese spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Came out perfectly but had to only give 4 stars because there is one direction missing - you are supposed to let the dough sit for 10 minutes after the mixture stirs into a ball. THEN add the eggs - one at a time. I made some mini cream puffs and some regular sized ones. The mini ones I filled with whipped cream (sweetened) and the larger ones with a homemade vanilla pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Never having made cream puff shells before, I had no idea how much beating it would take to make the dough "thick and shiny and ... breaks from spoon". That takes nearly 15 minutes and next time I will use my stand mixer with the bread dough blade instead of doing it by hand. And the puff shells turned out great! I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
A little too eggy, but still good. I did it with a vanilla pudding center and a vanilla glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
very good recipe trust me! I used plain flour instead of all- purpose flour and when i added the eggs with the ball of mixture , i felt that it wasnt gonna be good cos there were lumps no matter how long i mix . but i was wrong! even , though there were small dough lumps that i couldnt flatten , i baked them still ,and the puff still worked! the flat mixture puffed up and my elder brother felt that it can be compared to the bakers. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was okay. Not really what I was hoping for. Sort of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States