Cream Puff Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I could not get these to puff...Followed the recipe to a Tee...Wish they had though, cuz you all made them sound so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gemstoneprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was great! I used chocolate mousse with orange liquor mixed in for the filling... YUMMY! My partner is now expecting me to make this for his birthday instead of a cake... : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gdantman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Unbelievably simple! Followed the recipe exactly and talk about beautiful. Made chocolate pudding and mixed in cool whip for the filling. My kids now think I'm the kitchen queen even though I'm not. I'm already dreaming up excuses to make them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I sent these to work with my spouse as a treat to share (filled with heavy whipped cream and topped with chocolate) and they were a sure hit! I was really worried when they didn't puff up right away in the oven -- but be patient, they will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnnyCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Very nice, easy and they freeze well. Delicious filled with ice cream and balsamic strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaSuga
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Great shells. They are just like the ones I learned to bake in culinary school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
These shells tasted fine, and I filled them with pastry cream... my wife gobbled down 4 of them after dinner before proclaiming herself stuffed. I wish there were a way to add the cream without slicing the puffs open and hollowing them out. Messy. Otherwise, quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
fan - bleeping - tastic ! The only change I made was I do not use shortening. I use butter. I also used a 1 inch cookie scoop because I like smaller puffs. These take about half the time to cook so what them closely the first time you make this size. I filled them with christinibeanies pastry cream which is the best I have ever had. DO NOT CUT OFF THE TOPS! Use a wilton #2 tip to puncture the side or tope of puff. Fill a pastry bag with cream and a # 8 tip and fill puff. You will feel when it is filled. Then dip in chocolate ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jecjr0726

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe! Probably could have been done with only 3 eggs, however, and I baked mine for 20 minutes on 450 then only 10 minutes on 350. I pull out any extra that may be inside when I cut them open. I filled them with instant chocolate or vanilla pudding and sprinkle confectioner's sugar on top! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbontscho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very good. Just as I remembered... One thing though, is you should crack the oven after the pastry is done for an hour or so to prevent falling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Goldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States