Cream Puff Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Didn't come out quite like I had hoped, but had good flavor. It probably will get better with practice as this was my first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I have never made cream puffs before this recipe. They turned out wonderfully. I filled them with 1-8oz block cream cheese whipped with 3 ripe bananas, 1/2 cup powdered sugar and 1 cup heavy cream. Next I am going to try adding garlic to the batter and filling with 1-8oz block cream cheese whipped with 1 cup sour cream; 1/4 cup green onions (finely chopped) and 1/4 cup parsley (finely chopped) Served with some bacon strips and tomato wedges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catareen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Very easy. I followed this recipe to a T and they came out great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This shell recipe was so easy and they turned out wonderful! I did use a medium sized ice cream scooper to dish out the dough and I cooked them for 15 min (since they were a bit smaller) at 450 then for 10 when you reduce the temp to 350! Making sure they were a dark GOLDEN brown they were then perfect! I used a whipping cream recipe from a Emeril Cookbook and it was SUPER yummy! The cream recipe was 1 cup heavy whipping cream with 2 Tablespoons of Powdered Sugar and 3/4 tsp. vanilla extract! I made a double batch of the cream to fill all the puffs. The first time beating it all the old-fashioned was with hand beaters and the second batch I used my Magic Bullet kitchen appliance to whip the cream! The Magic Bullet did the job in just Seconds!!!! They both were good but the Magic Bullet was by far the better option and the cream didn't seem to liquify as fast after sitting for awhile! But both ways work just fine. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myhoneybear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made these cream puff shells as directed and they came out perfect. I really did not have to pull out soft dough accept for a couple. I dropped onto pan with a spoon and it made a few peaks that got a little browner than the rest of the puff. Next time I will make sure they are smooth or pipe them onto the pan. I filled with sweetend whipped cream done with powdered sugar and vanilla. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was the first time I made cream puff shells & I was nervous, but everything turned out just fine. Great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Four stars just because I didn't like the shortening. 5+++ stars using butter. PERFECTO! I fill these mixing a box of instant vanilla pudding(not store brand-the good brand)with a milk and heavy cream mixture that is recommended on the box(on the box recommends milk but use half heavy cream as well-so much more delicious) What a perfect cream puff. I also drizzle choc on top of them. People do think I buy them at a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
My husband's Canadian family has had this recipe for a couple generations, and it is always a hit with guests. We fill with vanilla ice cream, and he makes his own caramel sauce to go over that - delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I tried this recipe and used butter instead of shortening! Shortening was way to heavy and they didn't rise but the butter they puffed right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Excellent cream puff shells. I filled them with the bavarian cream recipe I found here on allrecips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by subcook732

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ionia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States