Cream Puff Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
We love these because of their versatility.Weather used for savory or sweet. I made these for a wedding shower in the mini cupcake tins and filled them with a very simple recipe for pastry custard. I can make both the custard and puffs ahead of time and then fill right before displying them on a pretty plate. You can also use the normal size cupcake tins and fill with your favorite savory filling. I make a chicken pot pie filling and put it in the puffs. D-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Cream puffs - always a smash hit! Make sure to cut in half and remove the fillament from inside first. That's not in the instructions. Then I like to add a couple slices of fresh strawberries or other fruit surprise, along with the whipping cream. I add a couple tbsp's of instant vanilla or chocolate pudding to the whipping cream, for a little more body, so the whip cream doesn't separate. I never use Cool Whip. It must be real whipping cream for the best effect. I also make these ahead and freeze them (without the filling). Or try adding a chicken & cream cheese filling with chopped chives for a really nice side for soup, or an appy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
turned out perfect, let them dry in the oven with the door left open a crack after turning the oven off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I never made cream puffs before, and I did mess up the first time I made these. On the second try they came out great. It was defintely operator error. I wanted small puffs, so I used my small cookie scoop to spoon them out and cooked them a little less time. I think my mistake was not mixing the eggs in enough. They came out as little hard balls. I found out the hard way that you really have to incorporate the eggs in very well. When you think you have done it enough, do it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yo.mags

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Great recipe, however I found the baking time to be a tad too long. I took them out about 8 minutes before the timer was set to go off, and if I hadn't checked them they would have burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
they tasted too much like crisco. Next time I will use a stick of butter. I made pudding out of egg nog that coved the taste. I just remade them with butter. MUCH BETTER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Came out perfect! Filled with homemade vanilla pudding and topped with powdered sugar. Now in great demand both family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
These make a great appetizer for any party and can be filled with so many differnt things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelissasMeals
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
AWESOME! Soooo easy! This was my 1st time making cream puffs and they came out great! I filled them with a sugar free chocolate mousse for my diabetic dad and he loved them!! Could totally be my oven but I only needed to bake mine for 20 minutes on 450 and they were done!! Thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissasMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Didn't come out quite like I had hoped, but had good flavor. It probably will get better with practice as this was my first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States