Cream Puff Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Unbelievably simple! Followed the recipe exactly and talk about beautiful. Made chocolate pudding and mixed in cool whip for the filling. My kids now think I'm the kitchen queen even though I'm not. I'm already dreaming up excuses to make them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I sent these to work with my spouse as a treat to share (filled with heavy whipped cream and topped with chocolate) and they were a sure hit! I was really worried when they didn't puff up right away in the oven -- but be patient, they will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnnyCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Very nice, easy and they freeze well. Delicious filled with ice cream and balsamic strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaSuga
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Great shells. They are just like the ones I learned to bake in culinary school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
These shells tasted fine, and I filled them with pastry cream... my wife gobbled down 4 of them after dinner before proclaiming herself stuffed. I wish there were a way to add the cream without slicing the puffs open and hollowing them out. Messy. Otherwise, quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
fan - bleeping - tastic ! The only change I made was I do not use shortening. I use butter. I also used a 1 inch cookie scoop because I like smaller puffs. These take about half the time to cook so what them closely the first time you make this size. I filled them with christinibeanies pastry cream which is the best I have ever had. DO NOT CUT OFF THE TOPS! Use a wilton #2 tip to puncture the side or tope of puff. Fill a pastry bag with cream and a # 8 tip and fill puff. You will feel when it is filled. Then dip in chocolate ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jecjr0726

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe! Probably could have been done with only 3 eggs, however, and I baked mine for 20 minutes on 450 then only 10 minutes on 350. I pull out any extra that may be inside when I cut them open. I filled them with instant chocolate or vanilla pudding and sprinkle confectioner's sugar on top! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbontscho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very good. Just as I remembered... One thing though, is you should crack the oven after the pastry is done for an hour or so to prevent falling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Goldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
We love these because of their versatility.Weather used for savory or sweet. I made these for a wedding shower in the mini cupcake tins and filled them with a very simple recipe for pastry custard. I can make both the custard and puffs ahead of time and then fill right before displying them on a pretty plate. You can also use the normal size cupcake tins and fill with your favorite savory filling. I make a chicken pot pie filling and put it in the puffs. D-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Cream puffs - always a smash hit! Make sure to cut in half and remove the fillament from inside first. That's not in the instructions. Then I like to add a couple slices of fresh strawberries or other fruit surprise, along with the whipping cream. I add a couple tbsp's of instant vanilla or chocolate pudding to the whipping cream, for a little more body, so the whip cream doesn't separate. I never use Cool Whip. It must be real whipping cream for the best effect. I also make these ahead and freeze them (without the filling). Or try adding a chicken & cream cheese filling with chopped chives for a really nice side for soup, or an appy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States