Cream Puff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This is really good. The base did puff up but after it had cooled a bit I was able to push them down a it. I did think that it had about 1/3 too much pudding filling. Next time I'll cut that down a bit. I also added a thin layer of caramel on top of the base, then drizzled a little chocolate sauce on that, then put the pudding and whipped cream over that. I think it helped keep the base from getting soggy (I was a little concerned about that). Everyone in my house loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I thought this was pretty good but definitely beat the milk slowly into the cream cheese and make the cream cheese fluffy first.....might cut down on the pudding mixture and use less pudding,maybe 2 pkgs and less milk...otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Says to use 9x13 pan but picture shows round, can I do this in a springload pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I have been making this dessert for years. We love it! Do mix the milk into the cream cheese slowly to avoid lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is delightful! I scaled the recipe down to 18 so I could do it in a 9"Springform pan for presentation purposes. Never having made cream puffs before I had no idea what to expect with this. Screwed up the amount of butter (tripled it) to start and had to throw it out and start over. Really fast and easy. Not sure if my dough needed a little more flour, it was really sticky, but I got it in the pan and up the sides. Looked like a volcano once it cooked, just poked the middle down, added chocolate pudding mix (it was what I had to use), cool whip on top and drizzled melted nutella and peanut butter mixed on the top. I refrigerated in the pan overnight and gave it to my dad for his 82nd birthday. It was so good!! The crust part held it's shape after taking the side off and wasn't soggy after refrig overnight. It looked very nice. Thanks Buchko!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This is so freaking good! I only had one package of pudding so I scaled the milk down to 2 cups and the filling turned out great(I have used a mixture like this for years for another cake recipe I make). I also think that was plenty of filling, so I'll probably keep making it that way. For the chocolate part I melted some chocolate chips with a spoonfull of peanut butter in the microwave and I put that on top of the crust before the pudding mixture and drizzled it over the top. I love this recipe and will make it for years to come. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Fantastic dessert!! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This recipe was delicious! My family absolutely loved it!! I only made one change to the whole recipe. Instead of using 3 packages of vanilla, I used two vanilla and 1 chocolate. This tasted exactly like a cream puff. The cream cheese was a little difficult to mix with the milk, but you couldn't really tell after it was finished. Great recipe and will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Thanks for the recipe. My used to make this and she lost the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
So yummy! And surprisingly simple. I make mine in two glass pie plates, spread hot fudge on the bottom of the crust, add a little vanilla to the pudding, and sprinkle shaved chocolate on top of the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States