Cream Puff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
YUM......so, so good and so easy to make. Instead of the 9 x 13 pan, I did use 2 9" cake pans and made 2 for 2 different birthdays. Huge hit with both recipients. The one change I made was using butter flavored shortening instead of butter for the shell. I was out and didn't have time to run to the store. I did drizzle with with a ganache and also used it to coat the inside of the shell per some other suggestions, to make it more like an eclair. Also used the handy tip about mixing in the cream cheese with 1/2 C of milk to make it nice and smooth before adding the rest of the milk and pudding mix. It made it lump free. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I used the puff pastry recipe and it came out awesome! tastes just like an eclair, just GINORMOUS! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambina82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
very yummy. It's best if it's eaten the same day you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMLIZARD
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Not sure how this will taste, but it was easy and sure smells good. The individual components tasted just fine by themselves. I made this for tomorrow's Christmas dinner with family. They will let me know how they feel about it, and I will edit review then. UPDATE: The family went nuts. They loved it. The only changes I made were adding a double batch of Eclair II icing on the bottom and sprinkling green and red sugar on top. Garnished with a little hot fudge topping right before serving. My sister in law demanded that for Christmas next year, all she wants is one of these cakes all to herself! :D GREAT Recipe! THANKS! ~ANOTHER UPDATE~ Made this April 9 with chocolate pudding, in a springform pan, with hot fudge sauce on the bottom. Presentation is very nice, easier to spread batter in the springform pan. It was very good also, but I think I slightly prefer the orginal flavor, of French Vanilla pudding. Yum! Either way, this is an easy and impressive dessert and I'll be making it many times. Don't forget to let the cream cheese soften first, then blend with about a cup of milk then add the rest of the milk and you won't have any lump problems with the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by jakesmomma
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made this last nite for my aunt's birthday and it was awesome!! Everyone loved it. The only thing I did differently was to make it in a springform pan. Easy and delicious. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and it came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made 2 cream puff PIES instead of making one in a 9 x 13 pan. With the addition of the chocolate icing added to the cream puff crust, it did indeed taste like a cream puff! I used Sanders Hot fudge topping as the chocolate icing and drizzeled it on top of the whip cream and it was perfect...not too sweet, nice and light! It was a Thanksgiving favorite among many other pies this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieD63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
SUPER delicious and rich! It's a nice alternative to the timely process of making individual cream puffs. It's also a lot messier since there is very little structure within the cake, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
We had a girls' get-together last weekend, and one of the gals brought this. A real crowd pleaser! She added some almond extract to the pudding mixture, which imparted a very elegant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Second time making, rave reviews and an empty dish to take home from a friend's dinner party. After reading the reviews, followed the tips for blending and it was lovely. Used a pint of Half n Half then added whole milk to make my 4 cups. Smeared Nutella on the bottom of the crust, this totally makes the cake. Also added 1/2 tsp vanilla to kill the instant pudding "processed food" taste. Sprinkled cocoa on top for color. Made in a 10" Springform pan, much nicer presentation than 9 x 13 cake pan which I used the first time, and everyone gets a serving of the amazing crust. Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States