Cream Puff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I love making this cake for dessert for Easter lunch. I was closely following the recipe and came to the point where the pudding mix was to be added to the milk/cream cheese mixture. I was beating the final mixture, but the pudding never thickened! What was wrong? I retrieved the pudding boxes and found they were not the instant pudding. What to do!? I poured the mixture into a pot and cooked the mixture - cream cheese and all. I was afraid it was going to be ruined, but I thought, what have I got to lose? I cooked the milk, cream cheese and pudding mixture (low heat) and it thickened nicely and I couldn't tell the difference between that method and the one that uses instant pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Wonderful!!!! This is so good! I cant stop eating it. Thanks for the recipe! Followed the recipe exactly. You don't need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is incredibly good, but it's best when refrigerated a few hr. or overnight! Next time i would try using 2 pie plates. I had no trouble spreading the pastry into the pan! I put my cream cheese in the blender with 1-2 cups of the milk and it didn't get lumpy. I used Hershey's syrup, but next time I will try the satiny chocolate glaze from this site for a richer chocolate taste. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Made with all low fat ingredients (smart balance, fat free whipped topping, lowfat choc sauce and sugar free, fat free jello pudding) and was a huge hit at a fish fry we went to. I will make this again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jelliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made this for christmas, everyone liked it, its addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OjibwayGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Creamy and delicious! My addition because I didn't have chocolate sauce was to chop up a chocolate bar and sprinkle on the crust right out of the oven and then let it cool. I can't wait to try with different flavours of pudding and fruit. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
My mom makes this for most of the family get togethers and everyone loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabbbyj14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This could be one of the best desserts I have ever had! The only thing I changed was once the crust cooled, I spread a jar of fudge topping (found in the ice cream section) over it. Then I topped that with the pudding. Also, instead of cool whip, I would strongly suggest making your own whipped cream! Beat 1 c. heavy cream with 1/4 c. confec. sugar and 1 tsp. vanilla. Since I used the fudge topping, I omitted the syrup. Plus, I think the bright white whipped cream looks appetizing on its own without the chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
YUM......so, so good and so easy to make. Instead of the 9 x 13 pan, I did use 2 9" cake pans and made 2 for 2 different birthdays. Huge hit with both recipients. The one change I made was using butter flavored shortening instead of butter for the shell. I was out and didn't have time to run to the store. I did drizzle with with a ganache and also used it to coat the inside of the shell per some other suggestions, to make it more like an eclair. Also used the handy tip about mixing in the cream cheese with 1/2 C of milk to make it nice and smooth before adding the rest of the milk and pudding mix. It made it lump free. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I used the puff pastry recipe and it came out awesome! tastes just like an eclair, just GINORMOUS! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambina82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States