Cream Puff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Ms. Sweet Tooth
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I’m giving this recipe 4 stars because its idea served as the base for my own altered recipe. I cut the dough measurements by half so that I’m left with a thinner dough both on the bottom and on the sides (I just couldn’t stand the inch wide dough on the sides). I also only bake it for 25 minutes and not the instructed 35. Anyway, I also used a Spanish type of rich vanilla pudding mix called Maizena instead of the pudding and cream cheese combination. For the whipped cream I use whipping cream, some confectioners’ sugar and a little vanilla extract. Finally for the chocolate touches that this recipe calls for I use some semi sweet kisses melted with milk (but only for the top since I don’t add the bottom chocolate layer before adding the pudding). This recipe truly those create a good starting point for anybody wanting to make a decadent yet smooth dessert that will blow everybody’s socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Sweet Tooth

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I made this yesterday for hubbys birthday. Wow!! This is wonderful. I did add some chocolate on bottom. Made in spring pan, Everyone wanted more..wish I had made two!! Thank you for such a awesome recipe... It's a Keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
The flavor is spot on, I think next time (oh yes -- many next times to come!) I'll be like others and use 2 pans. WONDERFUL TASTY STUFF!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I used coconut pudding because I'm not wild about the medicinal taste of vanilla. With coconut pudding and the Eclair II frosting, it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is absolutely delicious! Will make this all the time, only trouble I had was the shell sticking to the pan some. But it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Fantastic! Though I would call it more of an "eclair cake". I cut the recipe in half and prepared it in a round 9 1/2" cake pan. I got SO many compliments and was even told by my sister in law that this is her favorite dessert I've made. Even tastes great the next day though the crust is soggy by then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Easy and Taste Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla
Living In: Colville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Very good! I messed up and purchased the small size boxes of pudding. Man did I panic. I ended up using all three of the small size vanilla pudding and only 3 cups of milk. Tasted divine! Couldn't stop eating the filling. I took suggestions and put a thin layer of fudge under the filling. I love this recipe. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is a 4 star as is, but with the Eclair II chocolate filling addition it is a 5* !. It is easy, delicious and has great presentation... I baked mine is a 9" springform pan. This created a bowl like cake with high sides to hold all the yummy filling. Baked for 28 min. Recommend it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Oh, this was sooooo good! I followed some other reviews and layered hot fudge topping on the crust before adding the cream filling. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States