Cream Puff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
A little tip with the cream cheese/milk blending. I noticed that a lof of people have posted complaints about lumps. The trick is to not put the cream cheese with all 4 C. of milk or you will get lumps no matter how high you turn on the blender. Mix all of the cream cheese with a small amount of milk until smooth and slowly add the rest of the milk while blending and the mixture will stay smooth. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
563 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This is incredibly good, I have friends beg me to make it! The only thing I do differently from the recipe is to put a layer of chocolate icing underneath the pudding mixture to make it taste just like an eclair. I use the icing from the recipe on this site called "Eclairs II" submitted by Patty. With the addition of chocolate, this dessert is irresistible! I also take the Hershey's Syrup and drizzle it in lines over the top of the Cool Whip and run a knife tip accross to make a pattern, which comes out very pretty. The chocolate *REALLY* makes this dessert. Hints I would offer are, try and spread the dough mixture as evenly as possible in the pan before baking but don't get upset if it puffs all over the place and looks unshapely. Just give the big bubbles a squash as you assemble. The cream cheese and milk don't like to blend smoothly, start with a little liquid at a time to encourage the lumps to go. I've never had it seem lumpy in the end, even when I wasn't able to get it totally smooth. If you are really feeling decadent, try using half and half instead of milk with the pudding. I never have leftovers of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Is it possible to be in love with a dessert? I saw this recipe and tried to find an excuse to make it. So a work function came up and I whipped it up for that. The dough part may seem intimidating, but it's very easy! After baking, it bubbles up quite a bit, but i just pushed the crust down to the bottom of the pan to lay flat for filling. I spread a whole jar of hot fudge in the bottom of the crust, then proceeded to fill with the pudding/cream cheese mixture. By the way, as users mention, make sure you beat this VERY well to get the clumps out. I had to put the whisk attachment on my kitchenaid mixer and put it on high to make it smooth. And furthermore, it doesn't taste anything like cream cheese, but it turned out perfectly regardless so I'll still be sticking to the recipe. I topped with the cool whip and drizzled Hershey's chocolate syrup, then also added crumbled chocolate cookies on top. I could probably eat this whole pan myself! One important thing to note, this tastes like a gigantic eclair, so I personally would name this "Eclair Pie" since it doesnt seem at all like a cake, or like a cream puff. Highly HIGHLY recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
Great recipe I made it using two 9" pie plates and cooked the pastry for 20 minutes. The second one we froze and ate later it was just as good as the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This recipe was absolutely amazing, although we liked the corner pieces best (the middle pieces can be a little sloppy, and it's tastiest to have a little of everything in each bite!), so I'd recommened making this in two 8x8 inch pans rather than a 9x13. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
Mmm, mmm. Like a lot of other reviewers, I added a layer of chocolate at the bottom (the icing from the Eclairs II recipe--I do NOT recommend canned frosting). Next time, I may just melt some chocolate chips with a little butter for the bottom layer. Anyway, I took this to work (in addition to making a smaller pan for home), and it was a total hit! Oh, I also put chocolate curls on top rather than chocolate syrup. This made a VERY pretty--and tasty--dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This cake was fabulous!! My mom made our family's favorite cake and I made this one. For the first time ever... the non-favorite was eaten!! In my family that is a true testament for greatness! Make sure you spray a flat spatula with cooking spray to push the dough around the pan. Otherwise it will stick to it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I made this for Christmas and everyone loved it. I divided the recipe into 2 pie plates and also added the chocolate frosting over the shell before adding the filling. The cream puff paste is VERY sticky when trying to spread it in the pans, but I sprayed my hands with Pam and that worked great. I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
This was dynamite. I've always liked eclairs (my favorite dessert)and after the first taste I felt like I could gobble up the whole 9x13 pan, in one sitting. The dough stuck to the pan to some extent, making it difficult to lift a serving and have it stay in one piece. Other than that, awesome cake - and easy to make, too. This is going to get made many times. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
This was delicious. I was amazed that this actually tasted like a cream puff. I used 2% milk and french vanilla pudding. The cake was served to a group of friends and they all seemed to enjoy it. I was also amazed at how the shell puffed up the sides of the pan. The presentation was unusual and pretty. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States