Cream Puff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Genius idea and yummy dessert, but didn't really taste like cream puffs. I followed the recipe exactly except I topped with chocolate eclair frosting instead of the syrup. I would make this again for an easy and crowd-pleasing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This was SO good and SO easy! What a great combination! Took this to a family reunion and EVERYONE wanted the recipe (those that were lucky enough to get a piece that is!) I followed one reviewers suggestion to use the Eclairs II frosting recipe from this site to spread on the baked crust. It would NOT have been near as good without this. I think next time I will double the chocolate frosting layer and make in two pie pans so I can make one with vanilla pudding and one with chocolate for the chocolate lovers! I was asked to PLEASE bring again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
The pastry was authentic, but the filling was not nearly as good as a real cream puff filling. I would not make this again, unless I found a decent filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
It's sooo easy! I made half of the recipe in a large pie plate and it fit perfectly. Nice dessert to serve at a small party. The only thing I did not have chocolate syrup, so I microwaved semi sweet chocolate chips with butter and spread that on the pie shell. The texture is different because the chocolate hardens a bit after assembling the pie. I will use the pie crust recipe again and alter the fillings for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very good, but I changed a few things, and I think I would stick to the original recipe next time. I made it in a spring form pan, so it looked exactly like the picture posted, and I would do that again. I put in one package of chocolate, and 2 packages of vanilla pudding and I should have stuck to only the vanilla to make it truly taste like a cream puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Just plain wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Outstanding dessert. My husband loves eclairs and this tasted a lot like one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I LOVED this dessert! HOWEVER... I did not follow the directions... I made from scratch my own chocolate pudding, left out the cream cheese, whipped my own topping with heavy cream and sugar, and put a little chocolate ganache frosting on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MalElaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Great recipe! I made this in a 9" spring form pan. Came out easily and made for a nice presentation. I followed the suggestions of others reviewers regarding the chocolate over the crust. If you are looking for a different dessert this is it. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom2nat&lex
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very yummy and easy! I recently made it for a fathers day cookout and was a hit. One tip.. I made the chocolate sauce from the eclairs II recipe (recom. by others) to layer between the crust and filling - make sure to add enough water to thin out the chocolate and spread a THIN layer on the crust. Mine was too thick and it hardens up. Will def make again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2nat&lex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States