Cream Puff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made 2 cream puff PIES instead of making one in a 9 x 13 pan. With the addition of the chocolate icing added to the cream puff crust, it did indeed taste like a cream puff! I used Sanders Hot fudge topping as the chocolate icing and drizzeled it on top of the whip cream and it was perfect...not too sweet, nice and light! It was a Thanksgiving favorite among many other pies this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieD63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
SUPER delicious and rich! It's a nice alternative to the timely process of making individual cream puffs. It's also a lot messier since there is very little structure within the cake, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
We had a girls' get-together last weekend, and one of the gals brought this. A real crowd pleaser! She added some almond extract to the pudding mixture, which imparted a very elegant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Second time making, rave reviews and an empty dish to take home from a friend's dinner party. After reading the reviews, followed the tips for blending and it was lovely. Used a pint of Half n Half then added whole milk to make my 4 cups. Smeared Nutella on the bottom of the crust, this totally makes the cake. Also added 1/2 tsp vanilla to kill the instant pudding "processed food" taste. Sprinkled cocoa on top for color. Made in a 10" Springform pan, much nicer presentation than 9 x 13 cake pan which I used the first time, and everyone gets a serving of the amazing crust. Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I make home made cream puffs all the time but this cake is easier than making individual puffs. however I prefer home made pastry cream for the filling. tastes best to me. avoid putting the filling on the cake untill just before serving to keep it crisp. The cream puff base makes the best crust for any kind of cream pie! tastes like it came from a high end bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Such a hit! I made this for a group of people over for dinner at my Mom's and my Mom doesn't like to eat sweets--she had three servings, all after 7pm (Imagine that!). With that said, this dessert satisfies both the sweet tooth and those who don't like things too sweet. I did what others suggested-- add the milk slowly to cream cheese to avoid lumps. I also used the recipe from "Eclairs II" to add chocolate before the pudding and it turned out really great this way. However, next time I am going to try to just buy ready made ice-cream meltable fudge from the store, in order to save time. I am sure it would be just as good. I also used FRENCH vanilla pudding, which really made a difference and half and half instead of milk. The only questionable thing was in Step #2, the directions say that the dough will "pull away from the pan" and I wasn't entirely sure if it was ready or not, but everything turned out fine. Super easy and such a crowd pleaser! I called it my "Giant Eclair Dessert" and definitely recommend trying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I'd say 3.5 stars, if I could. 4 because it was super easy to put together. 3 because the filling didn't taste like anything extra special. But the kids and guests devoured it, so it's all good! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This is the most delish cake I have ever made! I used half and half instead of milk since I wanted a creamier filling and it came out fantastic. I made it for my son's 23rd birthday and it is his newest favorite. Also, the tip of putting a layer of melted chocolate on the crust before the filling does keep the crust from getting soggy. I melted about 1.5 cups of choc chips, mixed with 2 tbls of butter and a little milk to smooth it out, then smoothed it over the crust with the back of a large spoon. I recommend this for any special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooks, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jami1026
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This cake was fabulous and so easy to prepare! I cut the recipe in half and used a 9 inch springform pan. It fit perfectly. Don't be afraid if it looks like the dough is scarce before baking. It puffs up wonderfully, hence the name! Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States