Cream Puff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Easy and Taste Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla
Living In: Colville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Very good! I messed up and purchased the small size boxes of pudding. Man did I panic. I ended up using all three of the small size vanilla pudding and only 3 cups of milk. Tasted divine! Couldn't stop eating the filling. I took suggestions and put a thin layer of fudge under the filling. I love this recipe. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is a 4 star as is, but with the Eclair II chocolate filling addition it is a 5* !. It is easy, delicious and has great presentation... I baked mine is a 9" springform pan. This created a bowl like cake with high sides to hold all the yummy filling. Baked for 28 min. Recommend it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Oh, this was sooooo good! I followed some other reviews and layered hot fudge topping on the crust before adding the cream filling. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I love this and make it often with some changes. I soften the cream cheese in the microwave ( in a bowl) for a minute or so and then I beat it until it's smooth and creamy, then I add the milk a little at a time until it's a thick smooth paste and then I go ahead and add the rest of the milk- no lumps. Before I put the pudding mix on, I paint the cooked and cooled pastry with melted dark chocolate and let that set ( save a little to drizzle on top!). I don't like cool whip in this dessert so I whip 4 cups of heavy cream along with 4 tablespoons of dry pudding mix, 2 teaspoons of powdered sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla until stiff peaks form. This whipped cream is delicious and won't deflate even after a few days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Delectable! Very easy. I did take some advice from other reviewers and made the eclair II icing and put some in the botton of the shell prior to adding the filling. Also, made the filling with whipping cream and only 1/2 of the cream cheese. Also, I made a top layer of crust. Super easy and liked by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I loved this recipe except the filling seemed a little too thick...I added a half tub of cool whip to the filling mixture and it still seemed not creamy enough. Next time I'll add a full tub of whipped cream to the filling. Still delicious though. UPDATE***I mad this again over the weekend and added a layer of nutella on the bottom before adding the filling. DELICOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I was hesitant to try this but I'm glad I did. The results were outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I have mixed feelings about this cake. I make cream puffs/eclairs from scratch and thought this would be a nice time saver instead of having to fill each pastry individually. I was very pleased with the end result after baking the dough, it was a golden brown and puffed. I made it in a spring-form pan. The filling I made as directed using french vanilla pudding mix and in place of the milk, half 'n half. Gradually mixing in the liquid a few tablespoons at a time into the softened cream cheese will help prevent lumps of cream cheese in mixture. What I did not like was that the pastry became soft/soggy from the filling. This was disappointing. Flavor was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very good pastry recipe, at first I had the heat too high and I cooked the dough too fast in the pot, so I remade and was delighted with how fluffy the dough was! I also didnt have pudding mix, so I creamed the cream cheese with about a cup and a half of sugar in a saucepan, added in 3 tablespoons vanilla and a quarter cup of flour, then I added the milk gradualy, after bringing it to a boil I added one egg white and stirred until it was thick enough to my liking (a bit thicker than regular pudding) It was amazing :) also used a little homemade chocoalte syrup on top instead of store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States