Cream Puff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very good, but I changed a few things, and I think I would stick to the original recipe next time. I made it in a spring form pan, so it looked exactly like the picture posted, and I would do that again. I put in one package of chocolate, and 2 packages of vanilla pudding and I should have stuck to only the vanilla to make it truly taste like a cream puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Just plain wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Outstanding dessert. My husband loves eclairs and this tasted a lot like one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I LOVED this dessert! HOWEVER... I did not follow the directions... I made from scratch my own chocolate pudding, left out the cream cheese, whipped my own topping with heavy cream and sugar, and put a little chocolate ganache frosting on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MalElaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Great recipe! I made this in a 9" spring form pan. Came out easily and made for a nice presentation. I followed the suggestions of others reviewers regarding the chocolate over the crust. If you are looking for a different dessert this is it. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom2nat&lex
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very yummy and easy! I recently made it for a fathers day cookout and was a hit. One tip.. I made the chocolate sauce from the eclairs II recipe (recom. by others) to layer between the crust and filling - make sure to add enough water to thin out the chocolate and spread a THIN layer on the crust. Mine was too thick and it hardens up. Will def make again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2nat&lex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I thought this was good but my hubby and his friend loved it. To me it is a little too sweet... Something about the combo of cool whip and instant vanilla pudding and choc syrup. I think it would be better with homemade custard and real whipping cream. But it's definitely easy! I would make it again with some tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by atergirl
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Made this for my husband for father's day. What a hit! Everyone loved it! Made it in a spring form pan and put shaved chocolate on top. It was beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
wonderful!!! Must add chocolate eclair icing to the bottom before the cream cheese/pudding layer and add to the top of whipped topping. It is soooooooo much better than using bought chocolate syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I had the clumping problem, too. The flavor was good but I hardly tasted the cream cheese. I did what other reviewers recommended and used the icing from Eclairs II and used it on top of the cream puff dough before adding the filling, and that was really good. I just did a small dollop of frozen topping instead of spreading it around, as that stuff is just too sweet for me. The cream puff dough is a classic recipe and that was perfect. I need to tinker with this more to suit my taste, but thank you for the recipe, Buchko.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States