Cream Puff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jami1026
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This cake was fabulous and so easy to prepare! I cut the recipe in half and used a 9 inch springform pan. It fit perfectly. Don't be afraid if it looks like the dough is scarce before baking. It puffs up wonderfully, hence the name! Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Genius idea and yummy dessert, but didn't really taste like cream puffs. I followed the recipe exactly except I topped with chocolate eclair frosting instead of the syrup. I would make this again for an easy and crowd-pleasing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This was SO good and SO easy! What a great combination! Took this to a family reunion and EVERYONE wanted the recipe (those that were lucky enough to get a piece that is!) I followed one reviewers suggestion to use the Eclairs II frosting recipe from this site to spread on the baked crust. It would NOT have been near as good without this. I think next time I will double the chocolate frosting layer and make in two pie pans so I can make one with vanilla pudding and one with chocolate for the chocolate lovers! I was asked to PLEASE bring again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
The pastry was authentic, but the filling was not nearly as good as a real cream puff filling. I would not make this again, unless I found a decent filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
It's sooo easy! I made half of the recipe in a large pie plate and it fit perfectly. Nice dessert to serve at a small party. The only thing I did not have chocolate syrup, so I microwaved semi sweet chocolate chips with butter and spread that on the pie shell. The texture is different because the chocolate hardens a bit after assembling the pie. I will use the pie crust recipe again and alter the fillings for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very good, but I changed a few things, and I think I would stick to the original recipe next time. I made it in a spring form pan, so it looked exactly like the picture posted, and I would do that again. I put in one package of chocolate, and 2 packages of vanilla pudding and I should have stuck to only the vanilla to make it truly taste like a cream puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Just plain wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Outstanding dessert. My husband loves eclairs and this tasted a lot like one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I LOVED this dessert! HOWEVER... I did not follow the directions... I made from scratch my own chocolate pudding, left out the cream cheese, whipped my own topping with heavy cream and sugar, and put a little chocolate ganache frosting on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MalElaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States