Cream Puff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I have mixed feelings about this cake. I make cream puffs/eclairs from scratch and thought this would be a nice time saver instead of having to fill each pastry individually. I was very pleased with the end result after baking the dough, it was a golden brown and puffed. I made it in a spring-form pan. The filling I made as directed using french vanilla pudding mix and in place of the milk, half 'n half. Gradually mixing in the liquid a few tablespoons at a time into the softened cream cheese will help prevent lumps of cream cheese in mixture. What I did not like was that the pastry became soft/soggy from the filling. This was disappointing. Flavor was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very good pastry recipe, at first I had the heat too high and I cooked the dough too fast in the pot, so I remade and was delighted with how fluffy the dough was! I also didnt have pudding mix, so I creamed the cream cheese with about a cup and a half of sugar in a saucepan, added in 3 tablespoons vanilla and a quarter cup of flour, then I added the milk gradualy, after bringing it to a boil I added one egg white and stirred until it was thick enough to my liking (a bit thicker than regular pudding) It was amazing :) also used a little homemade chocoalte syrup on top instead of store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Very good.....very rich and a little piece goes a long way. Like others have said, the dough looks kind of ugly when it comes out of the oven, but smushing it down works. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
My rating is solely for the 'cake' part of the eclair as I used 'Pastry Cream' for the filling (recipe from this site), melted chocolate + butter + wee bit milk for the chocolate syrup (to spread over the crust before the pastry cream) and whipped topping for the top. The reason I've give this only four stars is because I found 2 eggs a bit much (I made half the quantity). To me, 1 egg seemed quite sufficient and ofcourse a less-fattening option. Since this was half the quantity, I baked this for approx 17-20 minutes. Next time I make this, I will pipe them onto a cookie sheet to make individual eclairs. Thank you Buchko! And thank you reviewers for all your comments! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
A must try. I too had lumps with the cream cheese, even after letting it get to room temp. I think next time, I will buy the whipped kind in the tub and use that. Even after beating it for an eternity, it was still a little lumpy. However, when I presented the finished product to my guests, no lumps appeared. Magic? I dunno, but this is the first dessert I have ever made where every single guest asked for a second helping. Hand down, just plain awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Easy to make. Made the filling the day before. Even though I mixed a little milk into the room temp cream cheese, I still had tiny lumps in the pudding. Took advice of other reviews and made the "eclairs II" icing and put a thin layer on the baked pastry. Most people really liked the dessert. I thought it was too sweet. I think I might have preferred it with real whipped cream. This was fine for something different. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Awesome! I used hot fudge (since that is what I had) and it was to die for! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I was amazed at how that crust puffed up! Easy to make, impressive to serve. Like other reviews, I spread fudge over the bottom of the crust. Serve the same day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I love making this cake for dessert for Easter lunch. I was closely following the recipe and came to the point where the pudding mix was to be added to the milk/cream cheese mixture. I was beating the final mixture, but the pudding never thickened! What was wrong? I retrieved the pudding boxes and found they were not the instant pudding. What to do!? I poured the mixture into a pot and cooked the mixture - cream cheese and all. I was afraid it was going to be ruined, but I thought, what have I got to lose? I cooked the milk, cream cheese and pudding mixture (low heat) and it thickened nicely and I couldn't tell the difference between that method and the one that uses instant pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Wonderful!!!! This is so good! I cant stop eating it. Thanks for the recipe! Followed the recipe exactly. You don't need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States