Cream Puff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Pretty good! Made this for a church function & didn't have any leftover. Next time I think I would prefer a little less filling, but that is just a personal taste. The only change I made to this was that I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the pudding/milk mixture because I wanted to really punch up that flavor. I beat the cream cheese until it was smooth & then (per other reviews) slowly added in the milk; turned out great with no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Oh so yummy! Very easy to make. As I started to make the pasty crust I was thinking that 4 eggs were too much. I got a fork and the eggs mixed in nicely, no problem. The filling was a little lumpy and I mixed the milk into the cream cheese a little at a time. Next time (and there will SO be a next time) I'm going to mix the milk and pudding together and then soften the cream cheese to slightly warmer than room temp and see if I cannot get rid of the lumps. However, it didn't affect the taste at all. I also took the advice of another reviewer and spread chocolate frosting (I just used a store bought frosting) onto of the pastry before I put the filling in. SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We must be the lone dissenters in recipe land. This was OK. I felt the pudding filling was VERY bland. I think it needed some vanilla and maybe some sugar. The dough was not sweet and neither was the filling. We didn't sweeten the home made whip creme that much because we thought the filling would be sweet. This was just OK for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Very yummy!!! I followed a couple suggestions --> used less eggs. I really liked the "crust" would maybe double next time because it makes a ton of filling. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverview, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is absolutely delicious and so easy to make. The only thing I did different was use 3 cups of milk and 1 big box of inst vanilla pudding. I would rather have more puff than cream, just a preference. The flavor is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Delicious! Very light dessert. I followed other reviewers advice and made the chocolate sauce from the eclair ii recipe on this site. Also put a layer of chocolate sauce on pastry before pudding layer. Make sure to beat cream cheese with 1 pkg of pudding and slowly add milk to avoid lumps. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Arcade, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was delicious. My husband said it was amazing. I did change it a bit. I used 2 large boxes of sugar-free fat-free pudding mixes and 1/3 less fat cream cheese. It was delightful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This recipe is DELICIOUS. I had some guests come over and they LOVED It. It is quick and very easy to make. :0) I agree with what others have said, if you mix a little milk in with the cream cheese rather than the entire 4 cups, you won't have any lumps!:0) Thank you for the wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Excellent! I did use two 8 x 8 pans instead of the 9 x 13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is THE BEST. I sent my husband to the store for the ingredience for this and he brough back 2 vanilla puddings and one banana. It lasted about 2 hours with 4 people in the house. it was sooo good. I am making another one tonight. Hopefully it will last a little longer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States