Cream Puff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This recipes was fantastic! Carlos couldn't believe my son and I made this! I followed it to the letter.It was so COOL when it started to puff up in the oven! If I don't make this again, my hubby would probably divorce me.lol I will make again for sure!Thank you very much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
YUMMY!!! It is TOTALLY better the next day. If you can make it and not try until the next day you are better off. Very rich, very filling - great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I didn't make an alterations and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethalto, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This is a really good recipe but we've made a few changes... We tend to only use the crust recipe and make our own pudding... Homemade is ALWAYS better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I made as stated. I agree that the crust tastes quite "eggy" (and I did bake until med dark brown like suggested in reviews)But... don't cream puffs usually taste eggy? I think so. And I thought the amount of filling was perfect. . I loved the way it puffed up over the edge of the baking dish:it was beautiful and rustic looking. I will make again but will use French Vanilla pudding (or a homemade custard),add some vanilla and try adding milk in place of one of the eggs. I won't add sugar though, it was sweet enough for our tastes. Good idea, and a very nice dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
My hubby made this one, it turned out great. Followed directions exactly and had no problems. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I was very skeptical of this crust, but mine turned out perfect. I made the filling by whipping the cream cheese well first and then alternating the pudding powder and the milk. This was quite a lot of filling, next time I might scale the pudding and milk back for 2 pkgs, instead of 3. I used real whipped cream on top also. This was great and the leftovers were good as well, although not quite as nice as the first day. This would be great for a crowd as there really are 8-12 generous servings. Very yummy and impressive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Baker's Joy is the secret. It pops right out when you use that. I used Sugar Free Pudding, added a tsp of vanilla to kick it up. Used low fat cream cheese and fat free cool whip. It was delicious! No need to add all those extra calories with regular ingredients. Family felt alot less guilty eating a piece after a large meal! Crust definately puffs way up. I think I would pay more attention to getting it up the side more to make it thinner. I pushed it down when it came out of the oven. Definately will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NYJEN
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I love this recipe, perfect dessert for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Super easy to throw together. I made this for people at church and they really liked it. The only thing is that my pan started overflowing. I only put 8 oz. of cool whip on top instead of 12 and that was plenty. Instead of hershey's syrup, I bought a can of choc. frosting. Following another reviewer, I spread a layer of it on the cake before adding the pudding mix. Then I heated up some of it to drizzle over top. I thin it needs the extra chocolate to be like an eclair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States