Cream Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Perfect easy vegetable for Thanksgiving/Christmas dinner that doesn't occupy the oven or take a lot of time or effort to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camph27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Made these for Thanksgiving and they were "ok" but nothing special. Got thicker and thicker as they sat. Need to cook the peas longer before adding the rest of the ingredients. We don't like crunchy peas. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Creamy sauce on peas that pop when you bite down. If that excites you then try this wonderful recipe. Season as you see fit but this recipe is the bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I was tasked with bringing the vegetables to our Christmas dinner. I ended up being in a bind for time, and I only had a few packages of frozen peas to work with. I found this recipe and decided to give it a try since I had the cream on hand for the holidays. All I can say is that my finicky, anti-veggie family went crazy over these peas, and I had NO leftovers to bring home. I used the full amount of sugar, but I also added pepper (about 3/4 tsp for 8 servings), which adds flavor depth and cuts the sweetness. I like crisp peas, so I would not use canned peas, unless you like it mushy. Easy, quick and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I'm vegan so I use soy milk and it works great. However I notice there are no recipes posted for Creamed Peas on Toast, but that is how I grew up eating it. Simply pour the cream peas over 2 pieces of buttered toast, season with salt n pepper, and eat with a knife and a fork. YUMMIES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is so simple. I have made it twice, once for a pot luck and another for Thanksgiving. Both times, everyone was like, "wow" these peas are so delicious." I mean I like peas, most people do, but peas are not something that would typically bring comments forth the way these did. One thing I changed - I added extra peas until the consistancy was to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Overall good but too sweet, creamy and thick. Shouldve used a little less flour, sugar and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
loved the recipe!!! mos def try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
i really enjoyed this! great side dish. I took some of the suggestions and used less sugar. I used caned snow peas instead and added a little more flour to make sause more thicker. Overall i liked this recipe and will be using it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2eat

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I am someone who doesn't like peas, but this I could tolerate.. I thought the flour made it a little goupy, but it tasted better then plain peas thats for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States