Cream Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was my first time making creamed peas, and I was very pleased with the result. I used 2% milk instead of the cream and the peas turned out perfectly fine. They got a thumbs up from my husband. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaireli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marengo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
made recipe AS IS. great alternative to 'regular peas' .. made with a glazed ham and baked potatoes.. mixed well with everything on the plate..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Recipe as is and is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
very creamy and delicious... I used 2% milk because I didn't have heavy cream... still turned out really good and tasty....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
a different twist on regular boiled peas. Easy to make, did not take very long. I would definitely cut back on the amount of sugar to 1 tsp instead of 1 T because it was too sweet and sugary for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Just like mom used to make. I'm gluten and simple sugar free, but this is easy to make GF and SS free, with just a few adjustments. 1 Tb. of cornstarch will replace the flour, and 1/2 t. of Xylitol or other granulated sugar alternative can replace the sugar. I made this a whole meal, adding chopped up polish sausage and frozen chopped potatoes that were thawed. If you do this, you need to increase the water to about a cup, or add a 1/3 c of cream. You'll need to use 2 Tb. of cornstarch in this case also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
very good but did use milk when I did not have cream. will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEANNA83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Weeping Water, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Reminds me of the way my grandma made them. I cooked onions and mushrooms together and added it to canned peas, as that was what I had on hand. Served them with ham, corn muffins and baked beans. Husband loved them. Thanks for an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
SO SO GOOD! My hubby was very skeptical when I told him I was making this, but loved it and requested it a week later :). He added a little S & P after, but I thought they were perfect as is. We serve it on top of toast. Could easily add shredded chicken or something for protein...but it's a great budget-friendly food when you don't have the time/money to go to the grocery store...Cream Peas over toast! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Wow! When I saw the title of this recipe, I thought "ewwww, creamed peas???" But they were a HUGE hit with my husband and I really liked them as well! I did use canned LeSeur peas and added some sauteed onion, but other than that, I fixed them just like the recipe said. I'll definitely cook these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEllis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States