Cream Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
It was just OK to me. My husband and sons all took one bite and that was it. And I thought the sauce was way too thick as well. I ended up adding an extra cup of water to thin it some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I found this to be a bit bland and pasty tasing. Rest of the family (husband, FIL, and MIL) liked it though. Personally, I'd prefer plain peas next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I do not like peas unless they are mixed in with something else. I have made this recipee twice and just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t.rena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Very good peas! Didn't have heavy cream on hand so just used 2% milk. I think next time I would cut back a little on the sugar. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Tasty recipe, but I'll have to tinker with spices a bit (as I do plan on adding this to my dinner rotation). That is simply because I changed a few things to cut calories and fat, and I'll have to find a way to make up for the flavour. Even still, the way I made it was still quite good, but will require something else added to the ingredient list. What I changed was to swap the heavy cream out for fat free half and half, margarine for butter, and used a teaspoon of splenda rather than a tablespoon of sugar. It was plenty sweet, what with the natural sweetness of the peas themselves. I also threw in a dash of fresh cracked pepper and a teaspoon of garlic powder, but will probably double both next time. I'm thinking another savory herb will do the job, like chilli powder or cayenne. We'll see! Either way, great recipe with room for tinkering. (I'm also thinking sauteed mushrooms might be fun!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
One of my favorite go to recipes for peas. Only changes I make is using 2% milk and Splenda instead of sugar since we have 2 diabetics in the house..one Type 1 and one Type 2. This is a great way to get kids to eat peas too. The sweetness can trick them into liking them! This is always requested in my house if peas are being served. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. Having these tonight (6/3) with meatloaf and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kymberlie2873

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
nummy! i changed two things, i used whole milk instead of cream and cornstarch instead of flour. it was all i had on hand, but it turned out wonderfully! creamy and just the right sweetness! i'll definately be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Yummy! Going to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is the best cream peas recipe i have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Very easy recipe to prepare, and it adds enough that the non veggie picky picks around here will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slacker Deluxe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States