Cream Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
A tad too sweet and lacking in flavor, so back to the drawing board I went. Halved the sugar, added minced onion and garlic and subbed chicken broth for the water. The changes were minimal, but the finished product was much more appetizing. Thank you Stephndon for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Add 1/2 pound of cooked and chopped bacon super good then it is five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
These creamed peas are great! I pour them oer Salmon Patties and WOW! Very tasty and a good Lenten meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Loved this! I used just a tad less butter and sugar than the recipe called for. I also forgot to thaw my peas beforehand, but that wasn't a big deal . . . I just boiled them a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
good recipe if frozen sweet peas are used no need for sugar. I tried this needs a dash of ceyanne pepper. Overall peas with a gravy is so much better with a simple rue. Growing up this was a regular over mashed potatoes with pork chops. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Oh my goodness. I have been enjoying creamed vegetables all my life. My grandmother on the farm, creamed everything. Of course, it was all home canned. When it was fresh from the garden, we just enjoyed everything plain or with butter. Thanks for sharing this with folks new to creaming veggies. CountrygirlSteele
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was tasty! I didn't have heavy cream so used sour cream instead and it worked great! Also added a dash of garlic and onion powder and cut sugar to 1/2 tsp. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefisgreat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Liked it a lot. Not my mom's however. I still prefer hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Too sweet & a little watery. Didn't like the flour without making it into a roux either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is a perfect recipe in my opinion. Add me to the list of reviewers who thinks that these taste JUST LIKE GRANDMA'S creamed peas! The only thing I did differently is bring the peas to boiling from frozen state, which worked just fine. Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States